Summary of the SACUM-UK economic partnership agreement (EPA)

Information on the trade agreement with the Southern African Customs Union member states (Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa) and Mozambique, replicating the effects of the EU-SADC EPA.

What the agreement covers

Economic partnership agreements (EPAs) are principally development-focused trade agreements that aim to promote increased trade and investment. They contribute to sustainable growth and poverty reduction in developing countries.

The UK and Southern African Customs Union member states (SACU) and Mozambique have signed the SACUM-UK EPA. It will be the basis of economic and trade relations once the EPA is given effect.

This agreement maintains the effects of the EU-Southern African Development Community (SADC) economic partnership agreement.

In the agreement, the UK commits to providing immediate duty-free, quota-free access to goods exported from the SACU member states and Mozambique, except for South Africa.

In exchange, the SACU member states and Mozambique commit to gradual tariff liberalisation of goods. Some domestically sensitive products in the SACU member states and Mozambique are excluded from tariff liberalisation.

To fully realise the opportunities that the agreement can bring to the SACU member states, Mozambique and the UK, the EPA provides for development cooperation to support the full implementation of the agreement.

The agreement includes provisions on:

  • intellectual property and geographical indications
  • government procurement
  • competition
  • trade in services
  • trade remedies

When the agreement will take effect

This agreement will take effect after Brexit, when the EU-SADC economic partnership agreement no longer applies to the UK.


If you have queries about trade with Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia or South Africa, please contact the Department for International Trade.

Published 5 November 2019