2016 Key stage 2: assessment and reporting arrangements (ARA)

From
Standards and Testing Agency
Updated
, see all updates

Section 3: Key dates

Dates throughout the 2015 to 2016 assessment cycle

The KS2 test timetable is included in section 3.3 below.

3.1 Key dates for 2015

Monday 28 September ‘Test orders’ section of NCA tools opens for schools to order modified versions of the KS2 national curriculum tests. Maintained schools, academies and free schools do not need to order standard versions of the tests. The quantities of standard test materials schools require will be based on their autumn census and pupil registration data.
Monday 28 September Independent schools who want to participate in the KS2 assessments will need to place orders for both the standard and modified versions of the tests from this date.
Friday 27 November Deadline for maintained schools, academies and free schools to order modified versions of the KS2 tests.
Friday 27 November Deadline for independent schools to order standard and modified versions of the KS2 tests and issue privacy notices.
End of autumn term Academies to have chosen which LA will undertake their monitoring of the KS2 tests and reported the information to STA.

3.2 Key dates for 2016

Monday 1 February ‘Access arrangements’ section of NCA tools opens for applications for additional time, early opening, compensatory marks and timetable variations.
Monday 22 February ‘Pupil registration’ section of NCA tools opens.
Monday 29 February Deadline for schools to submit applications for early opening and compensatory marks.
March Test administration guidance ‘Test administrators’ guide’ published for the 2016 administration period.
Friday 18 March Deadline for schools to complete pupil registration.
Monday 11 April All schools that have applied for early opening will have been notified of the outcome of their application via NCA tools.
Monday 11 April Deadline for schools to submit applications for additional time.
W/c 25 April Schools receive their KS2 test materials (standard and modified versions) and stationery items.
Monday 9 May – Thursday 12 May KS2 test week (see table below for the test timetable).
Friday 13 May ‘Access arrangements’ section of NCA tools opens for applications for special consideration.
Monday 16 May ‘Teacher assessment’ section of NCA tools opens.
Friday 20 May Deadline for schools to submit any notifications that pupils have used a scribe, transcript, word processor or electronic or technical aid.
Friday 20 May Deadline for schools to submit the headteacher’s declaration form.
Friday 20 May Deadline for schools to submit special consideration applications.
Monday 23 May Mark schemes available to download from NCA tools.
Monday 6 June - Friday 17 June Science sampling test period. Selected schools will be contacted to arrange a suitable date during this period for the administration of the tests.
Thursday 30 June Deadline to submit teacher assessment data
Tuesday 5 July Pupil results (raw scores and scaled scores) and marked script images available on NCA tools. Raw score to scaled score conversion tables available on GOV.UK.
Friday 15 July Deadline for schools to submit review applications.
Friday 2 September Review outcomes returned to schools.

3.3 2016 KS2 test timetable

The tests must be taken on the scheduled day.

Monday 9 May English reading test, reading booklet and associated answer booklet.
Tuesday 10 May English grammar, punctuation and spelling test, Paper 1, short answer questions.English grammar, punctuation and spelling test, Paper 2, spelling.
Wednesday 11 May Mathematics, Paper 1, arithmetic test. Mathematics, Paper 2, reasoning.
Thursday 12 May Mathematics Paper 3, reasoning.

These dates may be subject to change.