2016 Early years foundation stage: assessment and reporting arrangements (ARA)

Section 1: Introduction

About the EYFS ARA and how to use the new manuals format

1 Introduction

This guidance details the statutory requirements for early years foundation stage (EYFS) national curriculum assessment and reporting for the 2015 to 2016 academic year. It is produced by the Standards and Testing Agency (STA), an executive agency of the Department for Education (DfE).

The assessment and reporting arrangements apply to all early years settings, including all providers registered with a childminder agency, all providers on the early years register, maintained schools, including maintained special schools, academies, free schools, Service Children’s Education (SCE) schools, non-maintained schools and independent schools with early years provision, unless they have an exemption. Full details of how the ARA applies to different types of settings are included in section 5.

2.1 Using this manual format

You can search this guidance by:

  • selecting ‘open all’
  • pressing Ctrl+f on your keyboard if you’re using a PC or ⌘+f if you’re using a Mac
  • typing the word or search term that you’re looking for

A downloadable PDF version will be published alongside this version in October 2015, for anybody who chooses to print out a complete version.