Office access and opening times

On this page you will find information about disabled access to the British Embassy and our public holidays for 2013.

Disabled access

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and this Embassy are keen to ensure that their buildings and services are fully accessible to disabled members for the public. Wherever possible, we have made our buildings and services accessible. Sometimes however, this is not possible due to security or other restrictions. In these situations we will endeavour to provide a service or access to a building in an alternative way to ensure equality of access for disabled people. To assist disabled visitors, we have set out below details of access for the disabled at this Embassy. We hope this information is helpful.

General physical access

Access to the Embassy building is constrained by security considerations and the current layout of access routes and facilities. However, reception and security staff are alert to the requirements of disabled visitors and will endeavor to ensure that disable visitors are provided with appropriate assistance during their visit to ensure that they have access to Embassy services.

If you anticipate requiring assistance, please telephone in advance of your visit so that we can ensure that we are able to provide access for you:

Telephone: +95 (1)370863 and ask for the Security Manager or

Email: Management.Rangoon@fco.gov.uk

Public holidays

The Embassy will observe the following public holidays during 2014:

  • New Year’s Day - 1 January Wednesday

  • Thingyan Water Festival - 14 April Monday

  • Thingyan Water Festival - 15 April Tuesday

  • Thingyan Water Festival - 16 April Wednesday

  • Burmese New Year - 17 April Thursday

  • Good Friday - 18 April Friday

  • Easter Monday - 21 April Monday

  • Full Moon Day of Kasone - 13 May Tuesday

  • Spring Bank Holiday - 26 May Monday

  • Full Moon Day of Waso - 11 July Friday

  • Summer Bank Holiday - 25 August Monday

  • Full Moon Day of Thadigyut - 8 October Wednesday *

  • Full Moon Day of Tazaungmone - 6 November Thursday *

  • Christmas Day - 25 December Wednesday

  • Boxing Day - 26 December Thursday

*The Embassy will be closed to the public on these local holidays and will operate with a skeleton staff.

The Embassy will remain open on the following public holidays:

  • Union Day - 12 February Wednesday

  • Armed Forces Day - 27 March Thursday

  • May Day - 1 May Thursday

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.