Written statement to Parliament

Government response to the Electoral Commission reports on the 2012 PCC elections

This written ministerial statement was laid in the House of Commons by Damian Green MP and in the House of Lords by Lord Taylor of Holbeach.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The Rt Hon Damian Green MP

The Minister of State for Policing and Criminal Justice (Damian Green):

I am today publishing the government’s response to the recommendations contained in two reports by the Electoral Commission on the 2012 PCC elections. The first, Police and Crime Commissioner elections in England and Wales: report on the administration of the elections held on 15 November 2012, is a broad report into the planning and administration of the PCC elections. The second, 2012 Police and Crime Commissioner elections spending report, is focused solely on candidate spending during the election.

The response to these reports has been placed in the House library. The government is grateful for these reports from the Commission, and those from other organisations such as the Association of Electoral Administrators. The analysis and recommendations will inform and assist the development of PCC electoral policy and legislation.

Published 12 December 2013