UK SMI ID 12: identification of Haemophilus species and the HACEK group of organisms

Information on UK Standards for Microbiology Investigations for Haemophilus species and the HACEK group of organisms.




The last full scientific review of this document was completed on 8 January 2021.

The HACEK group refers to

  • Haemophilus species
  • Aggregatibacter actinomycetemcomitans (formerly Actinobacillus actinomycetemcomitans)
  • Aggregatibacter aphrophilus (formerly Haemophilus aphrophilus and Haemophilus paraphrophilus)
  • Cardiobacterium hominis
  • Eikenella corrodens
  • Kingella species

Read the associated review of users’ comments.

Published 4 March 2014
Last updated 15 January 2021 + show all updates
  1. Added issued document, version ID 12 issue 4.

  2. Updated to add issued version of document.

  3. First published.