Promotional material

Forest certification schemes: validity checklist

Category A FSC or PEFC certified products: use this checklist to ensure that the certificate is valid.


Forest certification scheme validity checklist (Category A)

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


Category A practical guide to checking certificates

A one page checklist on things you need to check, to make sure that the product is actually certified under Category A. Category A evidence is holding certification by an approved third party independent forest certification scheme, currently Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) and Programme for Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC).

The certification schemes FSC and PEFC are compliant with the UK government’s legality and sustainability criteria. The steps in the checklist will help you check that the certification applies for FSC and PEFC products you you receive. It also gives some guidance on common issues and solutions.

Published 1 January 2013