GCE subject-level conditions and requirements for modern foreign languages (listening, reading, writing)

Rules and regulations for reformed AS and A levels (taught from September 2018) in modern foreign languages (listening, reading, writing).


GCE Subject Level Conditions and Requirements for Modern Foreign Languages (listening, reading, writing) April 2017

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


This document sets out rules and regulations for reformed A levels and AS qualifications in modern foreign languages (listening, reading, writing) - that is, qualifications developed against the DfE’s subject content for modern foreign languages (smaller cohorts)

These will be taught in schools from September 2018 in the following languages:

  • Arabic
  • Bengali
  • Gujarati
  • Modern Greek
  • Modern Hebrew
  • Japanese
  • Panjabi
  • Persian
  • Portuguese
  • Polish
  • Turkish
  • Urdu

Read the associated guidance to understand how to comply with these rules.

You should also read the GCE qualification-level conditions and requirements and our requirements for all qualifications.

Published 21 April 2017