Financial sanctions, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Democratic Republic of the Congo is currently subject to financial sanctions. This document provides a current list of designated persons.


In 2005 the UN Security Council imposed an assets freeze and travel restrictions on persons acting in violation of the UN arms embargo imposed 2003. Subsequent Resolutions extended the scope of the restrictions to political and military leaders of foreign armed groups operating in the DRC, or Congolese militias receiving support from abroad that impede the participation of their combatants in disarmament, demobilization and reintegration processes; and those recruiting or using children in armed conflict; violating international law involving the targeting of children or women in situations of armed conflict; obstructing the access to or the distribution of humanitarian assistance in the eastern part of the DRC; and supporting the illegal armed groups in that area through the illicit trade of natural resources.

Current EU regulations

Current UK regulations