Policy paper

Department of Health powers of entry review

Department of Health's final report for the powers of entry review.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


Powers of Entry review report


The Protection of Freedoms Act 2012 placed a duty on all secretaries of state to identify and review the powers of entry they are responsible for and to report back to Parliament.

The Department of Health had 54 powers of entry. These ranged from the inspection of health and social care premises, to ensuring proper controls for medicines and laboratory equipment, to public health duties around the prevention of harm from disease or radiation. Thirteen have been identified as powers that can be scrapped or revoked.

Published 19 December 2014