Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research

The Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research are based at UK universities.


Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research - NCSC website


This page out details of the 19 UK universities which are recognised as Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACE-CSRs).

These universities are carrying out some of the leading UK cyber security research. The brochure available via the link above contains details of what they specialise in and how they contribute to the UK’s increased knowledge and capability in cyber security. This work contributes to the government’s National Cyber Security Strategy, which is making the UK the safest place to live and work online.

In July 2015 we published a brochure setting out the work of the first thirteen UK universities recognised as ACE-CSRs.

In 2017, the University of Warwick was recognised as an ACE-CSR, bringing the total to fourteen universities recognised by the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, along with the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) and GCHQ.

In 2018, a further three universities - Cardiff University, University of Kent and Kings College London - were recognised as ACE-CSRs.

In 2019, a further two new universities - Northumbria University and De Montfort University - were recognised as ACE-CSRs, bringing the total to 19.

The current list of ACE-CSRs is as follows:

  • Queens University Belfast

  • University of Birmingham

  • University of Bristol

  • University of Cambridge

  • Cardiff University

  • De Montfort University

  • University of Edinburgh

  • University of Kent

  • Kings College London

  • Lancaster University

  • Imperial College London

  • University College London

  • Royal Holloway, University of London

  • Newcastle University

  • Northumbria University

  • University of Oxford

  • University of Southampton

  • University of Surrey

  • University of Warwick

Please visit the link at the top of the page to see the updated ACE-CSR brochure.

Published 25 March 2014
Last updated 3 December 2020 + show all updates
  1. A new and updated brochure is now available on the NCSC website - see link at top of page.

  2. Updated the list of ACE-CSRs to include the 2019 cohort.

  3. List of Universities updated.

  4. This brochure was updated in 2015 when two additional academic institutions - the University of Kent and the University of Surrey - gained recognition as Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research.

  5. First published.