Civil service capabilities plan

How civil servants' skills will be improved in the 4 priority areas of digital, commercial, project management and leadership of change.



A capabilities plan for the civil service was published with the stated aim of creating a more skilled, unified organisation that provides value for the taxpayer. The plan identified 4 priority areas for development across the civil service:

  • leading and managing change
  • commercial skills and behaviours
  • delivering successful projects and programmes
  • and redesigning services and delivering them digitally

One year on, the Capabilities Plan – 2014 Annual Refresh reviews progress and achievements to date, and sets out actions for the next period.

Civil servants who wish to understand what they should be doing to improve their skills in these priority areas should read the Priority Learning Guide.

There are also further resources available for leading and managing change and improving your digital skills.

Published 18 April 2013
Last updated 12 June 2014 + show all updates
  1. Added: 2014 Capabilities Plan Refresh publication

  2. First published.