Statistics at HMRC

National Statistics and official statistics publications of HM Revenue and Customs, produced in line with the code of practice for official statistics.

These statistics cover HMRC’s main work from collecting tax to paying out personal tax credit and Child Benefit. The main taxes and duties are Income Tax, National Insurance, VAT and Corporate Tax.

There are around 100 annually produced statistical products which are based on a few core themes for which these statistics fall under.

Official statistics are defined in section 6 of the Statistics and Registration Service Act 2007. Only those statistics that are assessed as compliant with the code of practice for official statistics will be designated as ‘National Statistics’ and are marked with the National Statistics quality kite mark.

Publications in the tax expenditures, ready reckoners, tax credits, Child Benefit, (take up rates), (error and fraud), and (small area data) child poverty, Child Trust Fund, PAYE (Pay As You Earn) banking sector and tax gaps statistics are outside the scope of National Statistics.

To find out more about HMRC’s statistics, visit the HMRC statistics blog.

You can also visit HMRC’s statistics on The National Archives website.

Schedule of updates

Tax receipts and taxpayers

Tax reliefs and ready reckoners

Personal taxes

Income Tax and personal incomes

Pensions, tax-free savings and investments

Business taxes statistics

Property statistics

Corporate tax statistics

Benefits and Credits statistics

Child and Working Tax Credits statistics

Child Benefit statistics

Tax-Free Childcare statistics

Cross-cutting statistics

UK overseas trade statistics

Statistics that record the movement - for trade purposes - of goods between the UK and both EU and non-EU countries are hosted on the UK Trade Statistics website.

They are collected from the EU-wide Intrastat survey and from Customs import and export entries, both administered by HMRC.

Quality Reports and Code of Practice Breach Reports

Search HMRC statistics

Use the document search to find statistics reports and documents that HMRC has published (including guidance). You can also sign up for email alerts for new publications.

Official Statistics: Code of Practice

The UK Statistics Authority has published the Code of Practice for Official Statistics.

HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) complies with the Code of Practice and supporting principles. Detailed policy statements are given below:

As part of our continuous user engagement strategy please see the latest customer survey relating to the HMRC Official and National Statistics website and response:

Contact us

You can contact using the information below, or via the HMRC statistics blog.

Please note that any enquiries should relate to issues on National Statistics only and not general matters.

Release title Producer contact Producer email Producer telephone  
Publication of National Statistics Susan McDonald susan.mcdonald@hmrc.gov.uk 07823 371 040  
National Statistics Policy Neil Wilson neil.wilson@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 574 402  
TAX RECEIPTS AND TAX PAYERS        
HMRC receipts (including Tax Credits and Child Benefit net payments) Karen Mason karen.mason@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 586 203  
HMRC receipts, split by England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland George Dobson george.dobson@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 587 384  
PAYE and Corporate Tax Receipts from the Banking Sector Damian Pritchard damian.pritchard@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 589 633  
Numbers of taxpayers and registered traders Karen Mason karen.mason@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 586 203  
Direct effects of illustrative tax changes Anne Marie Herre annemarie.herre@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 578 925  
Tax expenditures & structural reliefs Karen Mason karen.mason@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 586 203  
PERSONAL TAXES        
Capital Gains Tax Daniel Booth daniel.booth@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 532 563  
Charitable donations and tax reliefs Sam Cuthbertson sam.cuthbertson@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 585 486  
Inheritance Tax Nazim Ahmed nazim.ahmed@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 530 307  
Trust Statistics Andrew Beacom andrew.beacom@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 593 579  
Personal Wealth Nazim Ahmed nazim.ahmed@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 530 307  
Employer Allowance take-up statistics Waseem Ahmad waseem.ahmad@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 583 207  
INCOME TAX AND PERSONAL INCOMES        
Income tax receipts statistics Andrew Brown andrew.brown1@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 594 140  
Income tax liabilities statistics Matthew Brunning matthew.brunning@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 589 306  
Income tax deducted from pay statistics Christine Yau christine.yau@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 589 619  
Personal Income Statistics Melanie Whent melanie.whent@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 586 132  
Taxable benefits in kind and expense payments Vivienne Raven vivienne.raven@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 589 094  
Earnings and Employment Statistics from Pay As You Earn (PAYE) Real Time Information (Experimental Statistics) Guled Alawi-Guled guled.alawi-guled@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 590 012  
Non-domiciled taxpayers in the UK Sam Cuthbertson sam.cuthbertson@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 585 486  
PENSIONS AND TAX FREE SAVINGS AND INVESTMENTS        
Employee Share Schemes Scot Hickinbottom scot.hickinbottom@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 522 330  
Individual Savings Accounts Freddie Mitchell frederick.mitchell@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 564 470  
Personal & Stakeholder pensions Freddie Mitchell frederick.mitchell@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 564 470  
Annual pension contributions by type Freddie Mitchell frederick.mitchell@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 564 470  
Flexible Payments from Pensions Freddie Mitchell frederick.mitchell@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 564 470  
Help to Save Statistics Freddie Mitchell frederick.mitchell@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 564 470  
BUSINESS TAXES        
Corporation tax receipts, liabilities & bank levy Claire Breeze claire.breeze@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 541 101  
Research and Development Tax Credits Chris Nash chris.nash@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 566 510  
Government revenue from UK oil and gas production (including Petroleum Revenue Tax) Iqbal Joomeen iqbal.joomeen@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 518 260  
PROPERTY AND STAMP DUTIES        
Stamp Tax Statistics Paul D’Mello stamptaxes.statistics@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 586 162  
UK Property Transaction Statistics Paul D’Mello stamptaxes.statistics@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 586 162  
ATED (Annual Tax on Enveloped Dwellings) Return statistics Paul D’Mello stamptaxes.statistics@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 586 162  
INDIRECT TAXES        
Value Added Tax Jennifer Mills revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 515 305  
Tobacco Sam Wheeler revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 515 305  
Alcohol Mark Armstrong-Wood revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 515 305  
Hydrocarbon Oils Bulletin Laura Trewick revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 515 305  
Landfill Tax Jennifer Mills revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 515 305  
Betting and Gaming Mark Armstrong-Wood revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 515 305  
Aggregates Levy Bulletin Sam Wheeler revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 515 305  
Air Passenger Duty Bulletin Claire O’Kane revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 515 305  
Climate Change Levy and Carbon Price Floor Mark Armstrong-Wood revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 515 305  
Insurance Premium Tax Claire O’Kane revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 515 305  
INVESTMENTS        
Enterprise Investment Scheme and Seed Enterprise Investment Scheme Stephen Bennett venturecapital.statistics@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 599 570  
Venture Capital Trusts Kathryn Ascroft venturecapital.statistics@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 521 762  
Creative Industry Statistics Stephen Bennett ct.statistics@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 599 570  
Patent Box Relief Statistics Huw James huw.james@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 528 095  
TAX CREDITS AND CHILD BENEFIT        
Child and Working Tax Credits Statistics (provisional) Daniel Lloyd daniel.lloyd@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 580 952  
Child and Working Tax Credits Statistics (finalised award & supplement on payments) Daniel Lloyd daniel.lloyd@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 580 952  
Child and Working Tax Credits Error and Fraud Statistics Mike Hulme michael.hulme@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 573 793  
Child and Working Tax Credits Statistics (geographical analysis and small area data) Vishal Abhol vishal.abhol1@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 588 854  
Children in Low-Income Families Local Measure Vishal Abhol vishal.abhol1@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 588 854  
Child Benefit, Child Tax Credit and Working Tax Credit take-up rates Daniel Lloyd daniel.lloyd@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 580 952  
Child benefit statistics (small area data) Vishal Abhol vishal.abhol1@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 588 854  
Child benefit statistics (geographical analysis) Vishal Abhol vishal.abhol1@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 588 854  
TAX GAPS        
Measuring Tax Gaps Anthony Burke anthony.burke@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 572 768  
VAT Gap Estimates Teresa Delgado teresa.delgado@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 586 361  
Tobacco tax gaps estimates Anthony Burke anthony.burke@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 572 768  
TRADE STATISTICS        
Overseas Trade Statistics (OTS) Maxim Mastrangelo & Tim Fuller maxim.mastrangelo@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk; tim.fuller@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 592 810  
Regional Trade Statistics (RTS) James Durnford james.durnford@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 593 683  
Survey Compliance Costs Christopher Cribbett christopher.cribbett@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 593 949  
​UK Trade in Goods by Business Characteristics Christopher Cribbett christopher.cribbett@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 593 949  
Non-EU trade by declared currency of invoice Tim Fuller tim.fuller@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 592 810