Statistics at HMRC

National Statistics and official statistics publications of HM Revenue and Customs, produced in line with the code of practice for official statistics.

These statistics cover HMRC’s main work from collecting tax to paying out personal tax credit and Child Benefit. The main taxes and duties are Income Tax, National Insurance, VAT and Corporate Tax.

There are around 100 annually produced statistical products which are based on a few core themes for which these statistics fall under.

Official statistics are defined in section 6 of the Statistics and Registration Service Act 2007. Only those statistics that are assessed as compliant with the code of practice for official statistics will be designated as ‘National Statistics’ and are marked with the National Statistics quality kite mark.

Publications in the tax expenditures, ready reckoners, tax credits, Child Benefit, (take up rates), (error and fraud), and (small area data) child poverty, Child Trust Fund, PAYE (Pay As You Earn) banking sector and tax gaps statistics are outside the scope of National Statistics.

To find out more about HMRC’s statistics, visit the HMRC statistics blog.

You can also visit HMRC’s statistics on The National Archives website.

Schedule of updates

Tax receipts and taxpayers

Tax reliefs and ready reckoners

Personal taxes

Income Tax and personal incomes

Pensions, tax-free savings and investments

Business taxes statistics

Property statistics

Corporate tax statistics

Benefits and Credits statistics

Child Benefit statistics

Cross-cutting statistics

UK overseas trade statistics

Statistics that record the movement - for trade purposes - of goods between the UK and both EU and non-EU countries are hosted on the UK Trade Statistics website.

They are collected from the EU-wide Intrastat survey and from Customs import and export entries, both administered by HMRC.

Quality Reports and Code of Practice Breach Reports

Search HMRC statistics

Use the document search to find statistics reports and documents that HMRC has published (including guidance). You can also sign up for email alerts for new publications.

Official Statistics: Code of Practice

The UK Statistics Authority has published the Code of Practice for Official Statistics.

HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) complies with the Code of Practice and supporting principles. Detailed policy statements are given below:

As part of our continuous user engagement strategy please see the latest customer survey relating to the HMRC Official and National Statistics website and response:

Contact us

You can contact using the information below, or via the HMRC statistics blog.

Please note that any enquiries should relate to issues on National Statistics only and not general matters.

Release title Producer contact Producer email Producer telephone
Publication of National Statistics Susan McDonald susan.mcdonald@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 07823 371 040
National Statistics Policy Neil Wilson neil.wilson@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 574 402
TAX RECEIPTS AND TAX PAYERS      
HMRC receipts (including Tax Credits and Child Benefit net payments) Karen Mason karen.mason@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 203
HMRC receipts, split by England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland Alexander Cooksley alexander.cooksley@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 124
PAYE and Corporate Tax Receipts from the Banking Sector Dylan Underhill dylan.underhill@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 229
Numbers of taxpayers and registered traders Karen Mason karen.mason@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 203
Direct effects of illustrative tax changes Bukola Feyisetan bukola.feyisetan@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 529 840
Tax expenditures & structural reliefs Karen Mason karen.mason@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 203
PERSONAL TAXES      
Capital Gains Tax Daniel Booth daniel.booth@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 530 745
Charitable donations and tax reliefs Sam Cuthbertson sam.cuthbertson@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 585 486
Inheritance Tax Nazim Ahmed nazim.ahmed@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 530 307
Trust Statistics Andrew Beacom andrew.beacom@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 593 579
Personal Wealth Sarah Hussain sarah.hussain@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk  
Employer Allowance take-up statistics David McDonald david.mcdonald@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 561 367
INCOME TAX AND PERSONAL INCOMES      
Income tax receipts statistics Andrew Brown andrew.brown1@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 594 140
Income tax liabilities statistics Matthew Brunning matthew.brunning@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 306
Income tax deducted from pay statistics Christine Yau christine.yau@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 619
Personal Income Statistics Melanie Whent melanie.whent@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 132
Taxable benefits in kind and expense payments Vivienne Raven vivienne.raven@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 094
Earnings and Employment Statistics from Pay As You Earn (PAYE) Real Time Information (Experimental Statistics) Guled Alawi-Guled guled.alawi-guled@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 590 012
Non-domiciled taxpayers in the UK Sam Cuthbertson sam.cuthbertson@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 585 486
PENSIONS AND TAX FREE SAVINGS AND INVESTMENTS      
Employee Share Schemes Lucy Davis lucy.davis@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk  
Individual Savings Accounts Freddie Mitchell frederick.mitchell@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 564 470
Personal & Stakeholder pensions Freddie Mitchell frederick.mitchell@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 564 470
Annual pension contributions by type Freddie Mitchell frederick.mitchell@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 564 470
Flexible Payments from Pensions Freddie Mitchell frederick.mitchell@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 564 470
Help to Save Statistics Freddie Mitchell frederick.mitchell@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 564 470
BUSINESS TAXES      
Corporation tax receipts, liabilities & bank levy Tim Hanison tim.hanison@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 062
Research and Development Tax Credits Michael McDaid michael.mcdaid@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 900
Government revenue from UK oil and gas production (including Petroleum Revenue Tax) Iqbal Joomeen iqbal.joomeen@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 518 260
PROPERTY AND STAMP DUTIES      
Stamp Tax Statistics Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
UK Property Transaction Statistics Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
ATED (Annual Tax on Enveloped Dwellings) Return statistics Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
INDIRECT TAXES      
Value Added Tax Dominica Parry revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 593
Tobacco Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Alcohol Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Hydrocarbon Oils Bulletin Dominica Parry revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 593
Landfill Tax Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Betting and Gaming Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Aggregates Levy Bulletin Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Air Passenger Duty Bulletin Dominica Parry revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 593
Climate Change Levy and Carbon Price Floor Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Insurance Premium Tax Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
INVESTMENTS      
Enterprise Investment Scheme and Seed Enterprise Investment Scheme Vivienne Opoku vivienne.opoku@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 093
Venture Capital Trusts Michael McDaid michael.mcdaid@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 900
Creative Industry Statistics Vivienne Opoku vivienne.opoku@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 093
Patent Box Relief Statistics Stuart Kozam stuart.kozam@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 038
TAX CREDITS AND CHILD BENEFIT      
Child and Working Tax Credits Statistics (provisional) Katy Morgan katy.morgan@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 527 724
Child and Working Tax Credits Statistics (finalised award & supplement on payments) Nazneen Chowdhury nazneen.chowdhury@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 564 287
Child and Working Tax Credits Error and Fraud Statistics Abdul Osman abdul-kadir.osman@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 309
Child and Working Tax Credits Statistics (geographical analysis and small area data) Katy Morgan katy.morgan@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 527 724
Children in Low-Income Families Local Measure Nazneen Chowdhury nazneen.chowdhury@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 564 287
Child Benefit, Child Tax Credit and Working Tax Credit take-up rates John D’Souza john.dsouza@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 557 457
Child benefit statistics (small area data) Naeem Abdulhussein naeem.abdulhussein@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 267
Child benefit statistics (geographical analysis) Vishal Abhol vishal.abhol1@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 588 854
TAX GAPS      
Measuring Tax Gaps Jayshree Varsani jayshree.varsani@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 279
VAT Gap Estimates Alexander Chislett alexander.chislett@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 586 361
Tobacco tax gaps estimates Jayshree Varsani jayshree.varsani@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 279
TRADE STATISTICS      
Overseas Trade Statistics (OTS) Maxim Mastrangelo & Tim Fuller maxim.mastrangelo@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk; tim.fuller@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 592 810
Regional Trade Statistics (RTS) James Durnford james.durnford@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 593 683
Survey Compliance Costs Christopher Cribbett christopher.cribbett@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 593 949
​UK Trade in Goods by Business Characteristics Christopher Cribbett christopher.cribbett@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 593 949
Non-EU trade by declared currency of invoice Tim Fuller tim.fuller@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 592 810