Statistics at HMRC

National Statistics and official statistics publications of HM Revenue & Customs, produced in line with the code of practice for official statistics.

These statistics cover HMRC’s main work from collecting tax to paying out personal tax credit and Child Benefit. The main taxes and duties are Income Tax, National Insurance, VAT and Corporate Tax.

In total there are around 100 annually produced statistical products which are based on a few core themes for which these statistics fall under.

Official statistics are defined in Section 6 of the Statistics and Registration Service Act 2007. Only those statistics that are assessed as compliant with the code of practice for official statistics will be designated as ‘National Statistics’ and are marked with the National Statistics quality kite mark. Publications in the tax expenditures, ready reckoners, tax credits, Child Benefit, (take up rates), (error and fraud), and (small area data) child poverty, Child Trust Fund, PAYE (Pay As You Earn) banking sector and tax gaps statistics are outside the scope of National Statistics.

To find out more about HMRC’s statistics, visit the HMRC statistics blog.

You can also visit HMRC’s statistics on the National Archives website.

Schedule of updates

Tax receipts and taxpayers

Personal taxes

Income Tax and personal incomes

Pensions, tax-free savings and investments

Business taxes statistics

Property statistics

Corporate tax statistics

Benefits and Credits statistics

Child Benefit statistics

Cross-cutting statistics

UK overseas trade statistics

Statistics that record the movement - for trade purposes - of goods between the UK and both EU and non-EU countries are hosted on the UK Trade Statistics website.

They are collected from the EU-wide Intrastat survey and from Customs import and export entries, both administered by HMRC.

Quality Reports and Code of Practice Breach Reports

Search HMRC statistics

Use the document search to find statistics reports and documents that HMRC has published (including guidance). You can also sign up for email alerts for new publications.

Official Statistics: Code of Practice

The UK Statistics Authority has published the Code of Practice for Official Statistics.

HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) complies with the Code of Practice and supporting principles. Detailed policy statements are given below:

As part of our continuous user engagement strategy please see the latest customer survey relating to the HMRC Official and National Statistics website and response:

Contact us

You can contact using the information below, or via the HMRC statistics blog.

Please note that any enquiries should relate to issues on National Statistics only and not general matters.

Release title Producer contact Producer email Producer telephone
National Statistics Policy Dawn Leyman Dawn.Kelly@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 330
Publication of National Statistics Susan McDonald Susan.McDonald@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 07823 371 040
Aggregates Levy Bulletin Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Air Passenger Duty Bulletin Dominica Parry revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 593
Alcohol Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
ATED (Annual Tax on Enveloped Dwellings) Return statistics Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Betting and Gaming Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Capital Gains Tax Peter Smedley Peter.Smedley@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 170
Charitable donations and tax reliefs Petr Simecek Petr.Simecek@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 171
Child and Working Tax Credits Statistics Heather Cookson heather.cookson@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 510 022
Child benefit statistics Heather Cookson heather.cookson@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 510 022
Children in Low-Income Families Local Measure Heather Cookson heather.cookson@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03003 510 022
Climate Change Levy and Carbon Price Floor Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Corporation tax receipts & liabilities Tim Hanison tim.hanison@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 062
Direct effects of illustrative tax changes Karen Mason Karen.Mason@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 203
Employee Share Schemes Dylan Underhill Dylan.Underhill@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 229
Employer Allowance take-up statistics Nishaal Gooroochurn nishaal.gooroochurn@hmrc.gov.uk 03000 586 153
Enterprise Investment Scheme and Seed Enterprise Investment Scheme Vivienne Opoku vivienne.opoku@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 093
Government revenue from UK oil and gas production Iqbal Joomeen iqbal.joomeen@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 518 260
HMRC receipts (including Tax Credits and Child Benefit net payments) Karen Mason Karen.Mason@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 203
HMRC receipts, split by England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland Karen Mason Karen.Mason@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 203
Hydrocarbon Oils Bulletin Dominica Parry revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 593
Income tax deducted from pay statistics Claire Price Claire.Price@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 528 243
Income tax liabilities statistics Matthew Brunning matthew.brunning@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 306
Income tax receipts statistics David Whitaker David.Whitaker@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 558 849
Individual Savings Accounts Mark Spivack Mark.Spivack@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 122
Inheritance Tax Dylan Underhill Dylan.Underhill@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 229
Insurance Premium Tax Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Landfill Tax Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Measuring Tax Gaps Jayshree Varsani jayshree.varsani@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 279
Numbers of taxpayers and registered traders Karen Mason Karen.Mason@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 203
Overseas Trade Statistics (OTS) Andy Watson andy.watson@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 594 162
PAYE and Corporate Tax Receipts from the Banking Sector Anna Stonell Anna.Stonell@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 384
Personal & Stakeholder pensions Mark Spivack mark.spivack@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 122
Personal Income analyses Ross Black Ross.Black@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 143
Personal Wealth Dylan Underhill Dylan.Underhill@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 229
Petroleum Revenue Tax Iqbal Joomeen iqbal.joomeen@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 518 260
Regional Trade Statistics (RTS) Andy Watson andy.watson@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 594 162
Research and Development Tax Credits Neil Wilson neil.wilson@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 574 402
Survey Compliance Costs Rafael Mastrangelo rafael.mastrangelo@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 598 173
Tax expenditures & structural reliefs Karen Mason Karen.Mason@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 203
Taxable benefits in kind and expense payments Jon Aldous Jon.Aldous@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 292
Tobacco Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
Tobacco tax gaps estimates Judith Read Judith.Read@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 308
Trusts David Whitaker David.Whitaker@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 558 849
UK Property Transaction Statistics Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
UK Stamp Tax Statistics Mark Dickson revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 515 305
​UK Trade in Goods by Business Characteristics Rafael Mastrangelo rafael.mastrangelo@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 598 173
Value Added Tax Dominica Parry revenuemonitoring@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 593
VAT Gap Estimates Rani Nandra Rani.Nandra@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 586 177
Venture Capital Trusts Vivienne Opoku vivienne.opoku@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk 03000 589 093