Media enquiries

Contact information for the Department for Education's media team.

DfE media team

Journalists should call our central newsdesk on 020 7783 8300. This media-only line operates from Monday to Friday, 8am to 7pm. Outside of these hours the number will divert to the duty media officer.

Members of the public should call our general enquiries line on 0370 000 2288.

Read our Education in the media blog

Deputy Director, News and Corporate Communications

James Cox

Head of Media

Michael Goldstein

Schools desk

Government policy on:

  • schools (including free schools, university technical colleges and studio schools, academies and multi-academy trusts, faith and independent schools)
  • recruitment and retention of teachers and school leaders
  • Teaching Regulation Agency
  • school funding
  • behaviour
  • relationships, sex, and health education; and personal, social, health and economic education
  • period products
  • curriculum and qualifications (including links with Ofqual)
  • Standards and Testing Agency and primary assessment
  • school accountability and inspection (including links with Ofsted)
  • careers education, information and guidance including the Careers and Enterprise Company
  • home education and supplementary schools
  • counter extremism and integration in schools

Chief Media Officer

Jayne Roberts

Senior Media Officers

Michael Murphy-Pyle
Sam Glanz
Josh Kaye

Media Officers

Peter Preston
Lauren Carpenter
Shannyn Quinn
Rachael Langley

Early years, Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND) and vulnerable children

Government policy on:

  • free school meals and breakfast clubs
  • children’s social services and care
  • all early years policy
  • special educational needs [and disabilities]
  • exclusions and alternative provision
  • school sport and holiday activities
  • mental health, wellbeing, bullying
  • Opportunity Areas programme

Chief Media Officer

Amy Taylor

Senior Media Officer

Rebecca Tyers


Priscilla Krahn
James Nickerson
Maeve McAlister

Opportunity Areas communications managers

Lesley Richardson
Ian Gardiner

Further education, skills and apprenticeships desk

Government policy on:

  • technical education and skills including T Levels and qualifications review
  • apprenticeships including traineeships
  • further education workforce
  • strategy for post-16 education (jointly with Minister of State for Universities)
  • further education provider market including quality and improvement and further education efficiency
  • adult education, including the National Retraining Scheme and basic skills
  • Institutes of Technology and National Colleges
  • reducing the number of young people who are not in education, employment or training

Chief Media Officer

Eva Perkins

Senior Media Officer

Holly Eastman

Media Officers

Porsha Nunes–Brown
Dominique Vincent

Universities and higher education desk

Government policy on Universities and higher education including:

  • higher education student finance
  • widening participation in higher education
  • quality of higher education
  • international education

Chief Media Officer

Steven Bourner

Senior Media Officer

Holly Manj

Media officers

Robyn Meadwell
Bethany Vaughan

Strategic Communications Planning Manager

Sima Parmar

Strategic Communications Planning Officer

Ellis Clarke

Executive agencies

DfE’s media team handles media enquiries on behalf of our executive agencies:

Non-departmental public bodies

If you have a specific enquiry about a policy that is managed by a non-departmental public body, you should contact the relevant body’s press office.