Sir David Grant CBE

Sir David Grant was appointed to the Dstl Board in June 2012. During his career, he held leadership roles in the electronics, telecommunications, aerospace and defence sectors, including:

  • Technical Director, General Electric Company
  • Vice-Chancellor, Cardiff University
  • Vice-President, Institute of Engineering and Technology
  • Vice-President, Royal Academy of Engineering

He is Chair of STEMNET, a charity that works with schools to encourage youngsters to choose a science, technology, engineering and mathematics career; a Senior Independent Director of Renishaw plc; and a Senior Independent Director of IQE plc. In 1997 he was made a CBE for his leadership and contribution to the UK Foresight Programme. David was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 1997 and elected an Honorary Fellow of Wolfson College, Cambridge, in 2000. In 2016, he received a knighthood for his outstanding contribution to engineering, technology and education.

Jeremy Monroe

Jeremy Monroe was appointed to the Dstl Board in January 2017. As well as sitting on the main Dstl Board, he is also a member of the Dstl Audit Committee.

During his career Jeremy has been a Partner and Vice President of IBM’s consulting and systems integration business as well as being the Global Leader for its Defence and Intelligence business. He was also a member of PwC’s UK Supervisory Board.

He is currently Deputy Chair of NHS Blood and Transplant, where he chairs the UK’s Transplant Policy Review Committee and sits on both the Remuneration and R&D Committees. He is also a trustee of Seafarers UK, better known as the King George V Fund for Sailors where he sits on the Audit and Governance, as well as the Grants Committees.

​Mark Preston

Mark Preston was appointed to the Dstl Board in May 2016. He is the Director of Commissioning Services in MOD, with responsibility for driving a wide portfolio of functional, organisational, and governance change across Defence.

Previous to that role, he was the Acting Director General in MOD for the Head Office and Commissioning Services and MOD Director of Security and Resilience, which encompassed the role of Departmental Security Officer for MOD and the Armed Forces.

David Tonkin

David joined the Dstl Board in September 2017. He is currently Chairman of the Railway Industry Association (RIA), where he has previously served as a council member. He was also interim RIA Chief Executive Officer pending the appointment of the new CEO.

David has held a series of senior financial and business leadership posts in a number of different industries including financial services, office services, quarrying, and professional services. He has lived and worked in a number of international locations including New Zealand and Singapore. His last full-time executive role was as CEO of Atkins UK and Europe, the UK’s largest engineering consultancy providing excellent engineering services to a large range of industries.

Since stepping down from Atkins in August 2015, he has been focusing on building a non-executive portfolio and spending much-valued time with his family.

As well as serving on the Dstl Board, David has been appointed Chair of the Dstl Audit Committee.

Professor Sarah Spurgeon OBE

Professor Sarah Spurgeon is Professor of Control Engineering and Head of Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering at University College London. She is also President of the Engineering Professors’ Council and Immediate Past President of the Institute of Measurement and Control.

Dr Brian Bowsher OBE

Dr Brian Bowsher recently retired as the Chief Executive of the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) where he was appointed in 2016. Before that from 2009 to 2015, he was the managing director of the National Physical Laboratory.