Members and code of conduct for the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK.

We have up to 14 Commissioners and a chair, appointed by the Secretary of State for International Development in line with the Public Appointments Commissioner’s code of practice.


Richard Middleton, Former Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Middlesex University.

Deputy chair

Professor Graham Furniss OBE, FBA, former Pro-Director (Research and Enterprise), SOAS, University of London


  • Professor Anne Anderson, Vice-Principal and Head of the College of Social Sciences at the University of Glasgow
  • Sandy Balfour, former Chief Executive Officer, Canon Collins Educational and Legal Assistance Trust
  • Dr Nick Brown, Principal, Linacre College, University of Oxford
  • Richard Burge, Chief Executive, Wilton Park
  • Anthony Cary CMG, former British High Commissioner to Canada and British Ambassador to Sweden
  • Professor David Cope, Foundation Fellow, Clare Hall, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Brian Faragher, Chair in Medical Statistics, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • Professor David Francis, Head of the Department of Peace Studies and UNESCO Chair in African Peace and Conflict Studies at the University of Bradford
  • Sarah Laessig, former Managing Director, Public Sector Client Sales Management (EMEA), Citigroup
  • Dr Joanna Newman MBE, Vice Principal (International) of King’s College London.
  • Mark Robson, Head of Statistics and Regulatory Data, Bank of England
  • Dr Mary Stiasny OBE, Pro-Vice Chancellor (International), University of London, and Chief Executive, University of London International Programmes.
  • Professor Jeff Waage OBE, Director, London International Development Centre

Code of conduct

The CSC code of conduct explains how Commissioners follow key principles of public life, carry out their duties, and use public funds and official resources and information. Commissioners also note the rules on conflicts of interest and apply the code of conduct in conjunction with these.


All positions on the CSC are part-time. The only member of the CSC to receive payment is the Chair, who is paid an honorarium of £6000 per annum. Other Commissioners receive travel and other out-of-pocket expenses only. Commissioners who review scholarship applications and attend selection committee meetings also receive an honorarium of £250 per meeting.