About us

We encourage fair and efficient arrangements in the workplace by resolving collective disputes in England, Scotland and Wales, either by voluntary agreement or, if necessary, through a legal decision.

Who we are

We’re an independent body with statutory powers. The committee has 55 members, including the chair, 12 deputy chairs, 18 members experienced as representatives of workers and 24 experienced as representatives of employers. We’re supported by a team of 7 based in London.


Acting Chief Executive

Maverlie Tavares

Operations Manager

Sharmin Khan

Case Managers

Nigel Cookson

Linda Lehan

Kate Norgate

Finance Supervisor & Assistant Case Manager

Laura Leaumont

Finance & Case Support Officer

Emma Bentley

Our responsibilities

We’re responsible for the following areas of dispute:

  • the statutory recognition of trade unions
  • the disclosure of information for collective bargaining
  • applications and complaints related to information and consultation arrangements
  • establishing and operating european works councils
  • complaints about the level of involvement employees have in certain decisions covered by regulations related to European companies, cooperative societies and cross-border mergers

We also offer voluntary arbitration in collective disputes.

Corporate information

Access our information

Jobs and contracts

Read about the types of information we routinely publish in our Publication scheme. Our Personal information charter explains how we treat your personal information.