Membership of the Central Arbitration Committee (CAC).

The CAC Chairman, Sir Michael Burton, appoints a panel of 3 people to decide each application. Each panel consists of a Deputy Chair, one Employer Member and one Worker Member. Appointments to the CAC are made by the Secretary of State for Business Innovation & Skills.

Deputy chairs

Professor Linda Dickens MBE Emeritus Professor of Industrial Relations, University of Warwick, Arbitrator and Mediator
Professor Lynette Harris Professor of Human Resources Management,Nottingham Business School, Nottingham Trent University, Arbitrator and Mediator
Professor Kenneth Miller Professor of Employment Law, University of Strathclyde
Professor Gillian Morris Honorary Professor, University College London in the Faculty of Laws, Barrister, Arbitrator and Mediator
Her Honour Judge Stacey Circuit Judge

Members with experience as representatives of employers

Len Aspell Director, HSBC Bank Pension Trust (UK) Ltd, Formerly Group Head of Employee Relations, HSBC Group
David Bower HR Consultant and Former Group Personnel Director, Rover Group Ltd
Mike Cann Former National Negotiator, Employers Organisation for Local Government
Maureen Chambers HR Consultant
David Crowe Human Resources Consultant
Simon Faiers Director, Energypeople, Former Head of Human Resources, Eastern Group plc
George Getlevog MD, GHR, HR Consultancy Services Ltd
Rod Hastie Human Resources and Copyright Consultant
Robert Hill Former Executive Director of Personnel, Ford Motor Company
Bill Lockie Human Resource Advisor, Former Head of Employee Relations and Compensation, HJ Heinz Co Ltd
Arthur Lodge Former Human Resources Director, Allied Bakeries Ltd
Peter Martin Employment Relations Consultant
Jackie Patel Former Human Resources Director, Delta Crompton Cables
Michael Regan Formerly Senior Vice President of Human Resources, AB Electrolux
Roger Roberts Employee Relations Consultant, Former Employee Relations Director, Tesco Plc
Maureen Shaw Former Director of Personnel Services, University of Aberdeen
Michael Shepherd Human Resource Consultant, Former Sector HR Director, Rexam PLC, Employment Tribunal Member
Bryan Taker Former Head of Law and Human Resources at Hilton International Plc
Paul Wyatt Employee Relations Consultant, Former Head of Employee Relations,Reuters Ltd

Members with experience as representatives of workers

Sandy Boyle Former Deputy General Secretary, UNIFI
Virginia Branney Employment Relations Consultant andMediator
Gail Cartmail Assistant General Secretary, Unite the Union
David Coats Research Fellow, The Smith Institute
Paul Gates OBE Former Deputy General Secretary, Community
Michael J Leahy OBE Former General Secretary, Community
Bronwyn McKenna Assistant General Secretary, UNISON
Judy McKnight CBE Former General Secretary, Napo
Lesley Mercer Director of Employment Relations and Union Services, CSP
Robert Purkiss MBE Employment Tribunal Member, Former Chair of European Monitoring Centre for Racism and Xenophobia, Former National Secretary, TGWU
Keith Sonnet Former Deputy General Secretary, UNISON
Paul Talbot Former Community Media and Government Affairs
Gerry Veart Former National Secretary, GMB
Malcolm Wing Former UNISON National Secretary, Negotiations and Services Groups