Press release

Ministerial appointments: August 2014

The Prime Minister has announced new ministerial appointments.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


Following the resignation of Baroness Warsi on 5 August, the following ministerial appointments have been made:

  • Baroness Anelay of St Johns is appointed as Minister of State at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office; she will attend Cabinet

  • Lord Taylor of Holbeach is appointed as Chief Whip, House of Lords (Captain of the Honourable Company of Gentlemen-at-Arms)

  • Lord Bates is appointed as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Home Office

  • further to his role as Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, The Rt Hon Eric Pickles takes on the faith brief

Further information

Baroness Anelay was previously the Chief Whip, House of Lords.

Lord Taylor was previously a Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Home Office.

Lord Bates was previously a Government Whip, House of Lords (Lord in Waiting).

See the full list of government ministers.

Published 6 August 2014