Press release

Last call for 2014 nominations for prestigious Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service

Nominations for the prestigious Queen's Award for Voluntary Service close on 30 September 2013.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


People are being urged to nominate community groups and volunteers who have made a genuine difference to their local area, the Cabinet Office announced today, in the last call for 2014 nominations for The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service.

The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service, a unique UK national honour, was created over a decade ago by Her Majesty to mark the Golden Jubilee in 2002 to recognise the outstanding contributions made to local communities by groups of volunteers. It has an equivalent status for voluntary groups as the MBE has for individuals.

To coincide with the 60th anniversary of The Queen’s Coronation in June, 117 outstanding UK volunteering groups were honoured as recipients of The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service 2013.

Now is the last chance to nominate your local voluntary groups for the 2014 awards; the closing date is 30 September 2013.

The award is overseen by the Office for Civil Society, in the Cabinet Office. Nick Hurd, Minister for Civil Society said:

I would urge members of the public who have seen the genuine difference volunteers have made to the lives of others, or witnessed the benefit of their local community groups who are supported year round by hard-working volunteers, to consider recognising this dedication and nominating their local organisation for a Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service by 30th September.

The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service Award Committee Chair, former broadcast journalist Martyn Lewis CBE added:

At grassroots level in communities across the land, there are millions of citizens identifying and tackling issues and problems that affect our society in all kinds of ways. They are the finest examples of democracy in action, giving selflessly of time and effort to make our country better for everyone. It is people like these who provide a fine incentive for even more of our citizens to join Britain’s great and growing volunteer army.

Winners will receive a certificate signed by The Queen and an exclusive commemorative crystal, presented by Her Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenants in their counties at special ceremonies arranged by the Lieutenancy offices and in the countries of Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales. The Lieutenant Governors of the Islands of Jersey and Guernsey will also make individual presentations. Group representatives of award recipients will also receive an invitation to attend one of the Royal Garden Party events in the summer of 2014 at Buckingham Palace or The Palace of Holyrood House in Scotland.

Find out how to nominate a group for the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service in 2014 or send enquiries to

Notes to editors

  1. Nominations for 2014 are now being accepted; the closing date is 30 September 2013.

  2. The Queen announced on 30 April 2002 the creation of a new annual award to mark the occasion of her Golden Jubilee and to become its legacy. This award, given annually, recognises and rewards excellence in services provided to the community. It is given to groups of 2 or more people, rather than individuals and emphasises the importance of recognising their outstanding achievements through giving their time to enhance and improve the quality of life and opportunity for individuals or other groups in their local community. It is unique by being the only award of this kind in the UK honours system and has the status of an MBE. It is the most prestigious award that a voluntary group can be given and is seen to stand alone amongst the many awards given nationally at the moment.

Nomination process

An independent nominator puts forward a group (groups cannot self-nominate) at Nominators can be members of the public, representatives of public bodies, other voluntary groups etc. The closing date for nominations is 30 September 2013. Recipients are announced on 2 June 2014, the anniversary of The Queen’s Coronation.

Assessment process

This is undertaken in 4 stages:

  • sift for eligibility by award administrator on receipt of nomination forms on the database
  • local panel assessment in the regions of the UK by Lord Lieutenants, statutory organisations and experts from the voluntary and community sector
  • a further sift by sub-groups of the Awarding Committee after receiving the panel assessments
  • a final assessment and agreement of list for approval by HM The Queen by QAVS Awarding Committee headed by Martyn Lewis CBE
Published 18 September 2013