News story

English Heritage Angel Awards

Are you involved in rescuing a historic place?

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The English Heritage Angel Awards is an exciting new scheme which celebrates the work of individuals and groups who have saved a significant historic place that was at risk of being lost forever.

Supported by Andrew Lloyd Webber, there will be four annual awards for:

1 The best rescue or repair of a place of worship

2 The best rescue of an industrial building or site

3 The best craftsmanship employed on a heritage rescue 

4 The best rescue of any other entry on the Heritage at Risk register

Awards reception

The closing date for entries is 12 August 2011 and the shortlisted entries will be invited to a reception in the Autumn to meet Andrew Lloyd Webber and fellow judges - Melvyn Bragg, Charles Moore, the Bishop of London, the Right Revd Richard Chartres, and Simon Thurley, Chief Executive of English Heritage - at a reception at the Palace where the winners will be announced.

Details on eligibility and how to enter

Updates to this page

Published 22 June 2011