News story

Dover Harbour Board Chairman re-appointed

George Jenkins re-appointed as Chair of the Dover Harbour Board.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


Shipping and Ports Minister Stephen Hammond has today (8 November 2013) re-appointed George Jenkins as Chair of the Dover Harbour Board. The appointment will take effect on 1 January 2014.

This follows the minister’s decision earlier this year to refresh the board through the appointment of 3 new non-executive directors with special responsibilities: Erik Ostergaard for port marine operations, Frank Martin for local partnerships, and Bob Lane for regeneration.

Mr Hammond praised the work that has been done by the refreshed board and executive team in improving relationships with port users, and re-launching engagement with the local community. He noted that this major port has continued to operate effectively and efficiently, as we all saw during the recent storm.

Mr Hammond said:

I am keen that Dover Harbour Board builds on the foundations put in place over recent months, and ensures the port’s position as a significant part of our transport infrastructure, both now and in the future.

There is more to be done to ensure that one of the UK’s major ports realises all possibilities of regeneration for the town and citizens of Dover. I intend to make sure that this happens, and that all parties are properly involved to achieve what we all want – a thriving Dover.

The minister plans to visit Dover later this year, to see first hand what has worked well since his last visit to the port in January, and to understand what more might be achieved.

He intends to hold discussions with interested parties, to inform ongoing work on how government, the port, its users, and the local community can best interact for the benefit of all.

Maritime media enquiries

Published 8 November 2013