Press release

Appointments to the Committee on Standards in Public Life

The Prime Minister has appointed Lord Alderdice and The Rt Hon Margaret Beckett MP as Members of the Committee on Standards in Public Life.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The Prime Minister has appointed Lord Alderdice and The Rt Hon Margaret Beckett MP as Members of the Committee on Standards in Public Life.

Lord Alderdice replaces Baroness Maddock as the Liberal Democrat party nominee. Margaret Beckett replaces The Rt Hon Alun Michael MP as the Labour party nominee.

Notes to editors

The appointments are effective from 1 August 2010 and 1 November 2010 respectively and for 3 years and in the first instance.

The Prime Minister has also extended the appointments of Lloyd Clarke, Elizabeth Vallance and Brian Woods-Scawen until 31 May 2011.

Lord Alderdice

Retired consultant psychiatrist in psychotherapy; Belfast Health and Social Care Trust. Convenor of Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Party in the House of Lords.

Former Executive Medical Director, South and East Belfast Health and Social Services Trust (1993-97). Former Councillor, Belfast City Council (1989-97). Contested Belfast East (Alliance Party) 1987 and 1992 general elections.  Leader, Alliance Delegation, Forum for Peace and Reconciliation, Dublin Castle (1994-97); Member, Northern Ireland Forum (1996-98);
Leader, Alliance Delegation to Northern Ireland Multiparty Talks (1996-98); Member Northern Ireland Assembly (for Belfast East) (1998-2003); Speaker of the Northern Ireland Assembly (1998-2004). President, Liberal international (2005-09)

The Rt Hon Margaret Beckett MP

MP for Derby South since 1983.

Former government minister under previous administration. Secretary of State for Trade and Industry (1997-98); President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons (1998-2001); Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (2001-06), Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs (2006-07); Minister for Housing and Planning (attending Cabinet), Department for Communities and Local Government (2008-09); Chair, Intelligence and Security Committee 2008.

Further information

The Committee on Standards in Public Life is an Advisory Non-Departmental Public Body (NDPB) sponsored by the Cabinet Office. The Chair and Members are appointed by the Prime Minister. The Committee was established in October 1994. Additional information about the Committee and its work is available on its website at 

The membership of the Committee with effect from 1 November will be:

  • Sir Christopher Kelly KCB (Chair)
  • Lord Alderdice
  • Rt Hon Margaret Beckett MP
  • Lloyd Clarke QPM
  • Oliver Heald MP
  • Sir Derek Morris MA Dphil
  • Dame Denise Platt DBE
  • David Prince CBE
  • Dr Elizabeth Vallance JP
  • Dr Brian Woods-Scawen DL 
Published 23 November 2010