Ministerial role

Secretary of State for Education


The Secretary of State is responsible for the work of the Department for Education, including:

  • early years
  • children’s social care
  • teachers’ pay
  • the school curriculum
  • school improvement
  • academies and free schools
  • further education
  • higher education
  • apprenticeships and skills

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Damian Hinds MP

Damian Hinds MP was appointed Secretary of State for Education on 8 January 2018. He was elected Conservative MP for East Hampshire in May 2010.


Damian attended St Ambrose Grammar School, Altrincham before completing a degree in politics, philosophy and economics.

Political career

Shortly after entering Parliament, Damian was elected to the Education Select Committee and served until October 2012. Previously he chaired the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Social Mobility. He previously served as Assistant Government Whip from July 2014 until March 2015, Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury from May 2015 until July 2016 and as Minister of State for the Department of Work and Pensions from July 2016 to January 2018.

Career outside politics

Damian spent 18 years working in the pubs, brewing and hotel industries, in Britain and abroad.

Personal life

Damian and his wife Jacqui have 3 young children.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Justine Greening MP

    • 2016 to 2018
  2. The Rt Hon Nicky Morgan

    • 2014 to 2016
  3. The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP

    • 2010 to 2014


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Funding boost for cross Commonwealth scholarship fund

    • Press release
  2. Education Secretary visits Nottingham

    • News story
  3. Funding boost to give more children healthy start to the day

    • News story
  4. New action to improve outcomes for children with additional needs

    • Press release
  5. New government action to create stronger, more integrated Britain

    • Press release
  6. Damian Hinds: There are no great schools without great teachers

    • Speech
  7. Damian Hinds sets out plans to help tackle teacher workload

    • News story
  8. New bursary to get veterans into teaching

    • News story
  9. A new apprenticeship programme kicks off National Apprenticeship Week 2018

    • News story
  10. Education Secretary celebrates students in the North-East

    • News story