Ministerial role

Minister of State for Disabled People, Health and Work


The minister’s responsibilities include:

  • cross-government disability issues
  • work and health strategy, including sponsorship of the Joint Work and Health Unit
  • disability employment, including Disability Confident, Work Choice, Access to Work, the Work and Health Programme and mental health in the workplace
  • support for those at risk of falling out of work, including occupational health and Statutory Sick Pay
  • financial support for sick and disabled claimants, including within
    • Universal Credit
    • Disability Living Allowance
    • Personal Independence Payment
    • Employment and Support Allowance
    • Attendance Allowance
    • Industrial Injuries Disablement Benefit
    • Carer’s Allowance
  • specific welfare and health-related issues, including Motability and arms-length compensation schemes
  • oversight of the Health and Safety Executive and the Office for Nuclear Regulation

The role of Minister of State for Disabled People, Health and Work replaced the role of Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Disabled People in July 2016.

Current role holder: Sarah Newton MP

Sarah Newton was appointed Minister of State at the Department for Work and Pensions on 9 November 2017. She was Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Home Office from 17 July 2016 to 9 November 2017. She was elected Conservative MP for Truro and Falmouth in May 2010.


Sarah was educated at Falmouth Comprehensive School before reading history at Kings College London. Sarah won a rotary international postgraduate scholarship in the USA.

Political career

Sarah served as Assistant Government Whip from May 2015 until July 2016.

Sarah was previously a councillor on Merton Council. During her time in Wimbledon, she served as the head of Friends of Cannizaro Park.

Career outside politics

Sarah was a marketing officer for IBIS, Citibank and American Express. After working for American Express for 4 years she became Director of Age Concern England. Sarah is also Founder and Initial Director of the International Longevity Centre.

Personal life

Sarah is married and has 3 children.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Penny Mordaunt MP

    • 2016 to 2017


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Appointments to the Industrial Injuries Advisory Council

    • News story
  2. Disability champions set to open industry doors

    • Press release
  3. Minister calls on businesses to reveal how many disabled staff they employ

    • Press release
  4. Millions awarded to help people with health conditions stay in work

    • Press release
  5. 'Purple Tuesday' is the UK's first accessible shopping day

    • News story
  6. Call for tourism industry to do more to cater for disabled people

    • Press release
  7. Increased funding announced for disabled people with the greatest barriers to work

    • Press release
  8. People with hidden disabilities to benefit from Blue Badges

    • News story
  9. Multi-million pound fund to help tackle the disability employment gap launched

    • Press release
  10. Government to end unnecessary PIP reviews for people with most severe health conditions

    • Press release