Ministerial role

Commercial Secretary to the Treasury


The responsibilities of the Commercial Secretary to the Treasury include:

  • delivery of infrastructure projects across the public sector and facilitating private sector investment into UK infrastructure
  • Infrastructure UK
  • supporting the Chief Secretary on capital investment
  • corporate finance, including public corporations, public private partnerships, PF2, existing PFI contracts, and sales of government assets
  • better regulation and competition policy
  • asset freezing and financial crime
  • supporting the Chancellor and Financial Secretary to the Treasury on wider growth policy
  • supporting the Secretary of State for Culture on the Olympics legacy, working with DCMS Ministers and Lord Coe in his role as Legacy Ambassador
  • working with Lord Livingstone and UKTI to promote the UK as a destination for foreign direct investment including through being ‘contact Minister’ for the major energy utility companies
  • questions and debates on these policy areas in the House of Lords and answering Lords’ written questions
  • Crown Estate and the Royal Household
  • Royal Mint

Current role holder: Lord Deighton

Lord Deighton took up the post of Commercial Secretary to the Treasury in January 2013.


Lord Deighton studied Economics at Trinity College Cambridge.

Career outside politics

Lord Deighton joined the Treasury having successfully completed his role as Chief Executive of the London Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games (LOCOG), which was responsible for preparing and staging the London 2012 Games. Over six and a half years as CEO he was in charge of the day-to-day operations of the company, overseeing recruitment of a workforce of around 6,000 paid staff, up to 70,000 volunteers and around 100,000 contractor roles as well as the procurement of £700m-worth of contracts to help deliver the hugely successful Games. He was also responsible for the annual budget and provided leadership in the development of a variety of Olympic and Paralympic programmes, from sponsorship and marketing to ticketing and the Torch Relay.

Prior to joining London 2012, Lord Deighton was the Chief Operating Officer of Goldman Sachs in Europe, and a member of its European Management Committee. At Goldman Sachs he worked in a variety of management and client-facing roles for over 22 years, and was appointed a partner of the firm in 1996.

Before joining Goldman Sachs in 1983, Lord Deighton worked for both Security Pacific National Bank and Bank of America.

Personal life

Lord Deighton is married to Alison and has 2 sons. He is also a Board member of England Rugby 2015, the Organising Committee for Rugby World Cup 2015.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Lord Sassoon of Ashley Park

    • 2010 to 2013


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Government secures skills boost for major infrastructure projects

    • 24 March 2015
    • Press release
  2. Lord Deighton: National Infrastructure Plan 2014

    • 2 December 2014
    • Speech
  3. Let's make our towns and cities 'magnets for growth', says Transport Secretary in response to HS2 Growth Taskforce

    • 24 July 2014
    • News story
  4. Government brings down infrastructure costs for third year running

    • 15 July 2014
    • News story
  5. Lord Deighton congratulates the engineers of tomorrow at Crossrail Awards

    • 3 March 2014
    • News story
  6. Ministers call for industry to ‘do its part’ to deliver world class infrastructure in Northern Ireland

    • 23 January 2014
    • News story
  7. First new college in 20 years to support development of High Speed 2 (HS2)

    • 14 January 2014
    • Press release
  8. New infrastructure plan published by government

    • 4 December 2013
    • News story
  9. Industry leaders sign up to cut 24 million tonnes of carbon from infrastructure projects

    • 25 November 2013
    • News story
  10. HS2 Growth Taskforce comes to Yorkshire to secure maximum boost for region's economy

    • 20 November 2013
    • Press release