The central rating list

The central rating lists contain the rating assessments of the network property of major transport, utility and telecommunications undertakings and cross-country pipelines.

There is a single entry in the rating list for each company named in The Central Rating List Regulations 2005. There are separate Regulations and lists for England and Wales.

There is a single aggregate rateable value shown for all the property occupied by the named ratepayer that falls within their definition in the Regulations. Any property occupied by a central list ratepayer that falls outside the definition will be shown individually in a local rating list.

Rates on central rating list hereditaments in England are paid direct to the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, and in Wales to the Welsh Government. The lists show the rateable values currently in force for each ratepayer. You can contact the National Specialists Unit for central rating list enquiries.


  1. The central rating list - 2017
  2. The central rating list - 2010
  3. The central rating list - 2005
Published 21 September 2016
Last updated 30 September 2016 + show all updates
  1. 'The central rating list - 2017' has been added.
  2. 'The central rating list - 2017' has been added.
  3. First published.