GCSE subject content

Documents for schools about GCSE content.

GCSE subject content publications setting out the knowledge, understanding and skills common to all GCSE specifications.

The subject content publications are organised according to the year of first teaching of these GCSEs.

Assessment objectives are available on Ofqual’s website.

Subject content for teaching from 2015 onwards

  1. GCSE English language and GCSE English literature
  2. GCSE mathematics

Subject content for teaching from 2016 onwards

  1. GCSE ancient languages
  2. GCSE art and design
  3. GCSE citizenship studies
  4. GCSE combined science
  5. GCSE computer science
  6. GCSE dance
  7. GCSE drama
  8. GCSE food preparation and nutrition
  9. GCSE geography
  10. GCSE history
  11. GCSE modern foreign languages
  12. GCSE music
  13. GCSE physical education
  14. GCSE religious studies
  15. GCSE single science

Subject content for teaching from 2017 onwards

  1. GCSE ancient history
  2. GCSE astronomy
  3. GCSE business
  4. GCSE classical civilisation
  5. GCSE design and technology
  6. GCSE economics
  7. GCSE electronics
  8. GCSE engineering
  9. GCSE film studies
  10. GCSE geology
  11. GCSE media studies
  12. GCSE physical education short course
  13. GCSE psychology
  14. GCSE sociology
  15. GCSE statistics
Published 9 April 2014
Last updated 1 March 2016 + show all updates
  1. Added content for sociology and physical education short course.

  2. Added content for ancient history; classical civilisation; electronics; film studies; media studies; statistics.

  3. Added content for astronomy, business, economics, engineering, geology and psychology.

  4. Added GCSE design and technology subject content guidance.

  5. Added content for religious studies.

  6. Published content for drama, citizenship and food and nutrition.

  7. Added subject content for art and design, computer science, dance, music and PE.

  8. Link to assessment objectives on the Ofqual website added to page.

  9. First published.