Asylum claims and the Dublin regulations

These documents give asylum seekers information about claiming asylum in countries covered by the Dublin procedure.

The Dublin procedure:

  • guarantees that your application for asylum reaches the authority of the country responsible for examining it
  • ensures you don’t make many applications for asylum in several countries to extend your stay in Dublin countries

The Dublin procedure covers 32 countries. The ‘Dublin countries’ are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • UK

As well as the 4 countries ‘associated’ with the Dublin system:

  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Switzerland
  • Liechtenstein

The Dublin procedure finds out which country will examine your application for asylum. This means you may be transferred from the UK to a different country that is responsible for your application.

Until we decide which country is responsible for deciding on your application, we won’t consider your application.


Published 29 December 2014