2007 to 2013 ERDF programmes and resources

Guidance about the types of ERDF programmes in England, the amount of resources allocated to them and how each programme is managed.


Local partners agree a comprehensive operational programme strategy that sets out the priorities and targets for each European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) programme with the European Commission.

In the current ERDF programming period (2007 to 2013) funding has been allocated to programmes from 3 priority objectives:

  • convergence
  • regional competitiveness and employment
  • European territorial cooperation


Convergence funding provides investment in the least-developed regions that have a gross domestic product (GDP) below 75% of the average in the European Union. Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly is the only area in England to qualify.

Regional competitiveness and employment

Regional competitiveness and employment funding is for all regions that do not receive convergence funding. This funding is aimed at strengthening the region’s competitiveness and increasing employment. There are 9 regional competitiveness and employment programmes in England with different levels of funding dependent on the relative need:

  • East Midlands: €268.5 million
  • East of England: €110.9 million
  • London: €181.9 million
  • North East: €375.7 million
  • North West: €755.5 million
  • South East: €23.7 million
  • South West: €124.7 million
  • West Midlands: €399.9 million
  • Yorkshire and the Humber: €583.6 million

European territorial co-operation programmes

See the detailed guide about European territorial cooperation programmes. You can also find out about European territorial cooperation on the European Commission’s website.

ERDF programmes details

An operational programme has been developed for each ERDF programme in England providing details on what the programme is and what it aims to do over the lifetime of the programming period.

Managing the ERDF programmes

The Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) is the managing authority for all European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) programmes in England. The managing authority is the body designated by the European Union (EU) member state to ensure EU structural fund programmes are implemented and that their activity conforms to European Commission regulations. DCLG provides the framework for how ERDF programmes should be delivered, reporting to ministers and the European Commission.

DCLG has locally based teams responsible for delivering the English ERDF programmes. This provides government with operational scrutiny, mitigating the risk of financial corrections imposed by the European Commission, while retaining local expertise and experience.

Local management committees

Each programme has a local management committee and a growth delivery team to oversee ERDF investment, guide the programme, and assess progress. The management committees are chaired by a number of DCLG’s directors and, in the case of London, the Mayor. The committees draw their membership from government departments and a wide range of local partners including:

•local enterprise partnerships •local authorities •higher and further education institutions •environmental bodies •voluntary and private sectors •business community

Local management committees responsibilities:

•reviewing progress towards the achievement of programme targets and objectives •receiving and considering consistent, up-to-date management information for the programme •consideration and approval of annual and final reports •consideration and approval of programme evaluations and resulting Operational Programme amendments •strategic linkages with other structural funds, domestic programmes and wider UK economic policy.

Memberships lists and terms of reference:

Latest meeting minutes:

Past meeting minutes can be requested for each ERDF programme through the contacts provided below.

Contacts for the ERDF programmes

The following contact details can be used to request more information on the ERDF programmes and to speak to the DCLG growth delivery team in each area.

Cornwall and Isles of Scilly convergence programme: 0303 444 6585 or Further information is also available on the Cornwall convergence programme’s website.

East Midlands programme: 0303 444 6427 or

East of England programme: 0303 444 6400 or

North East programme: 0303 444 6475 or

North West programme: 0303 444 6520 or

South East programme:

South West programme: 0303 444 6580 or

West Midlands programme: 0303 444 6589 or

Yorkshire and the Humber programme: 0303 444 6640 or

London programme is administered by the Greater London Authority.