1. Overview

Military low flying is used to train military aircrew. Low flying by military aircraft is carried out across all of the UK.

Low flying means:

  • fixed-wing aircraft flying down to 250 feet from the ground
  • rotary-wing aircraft (eg helicopters) flying down to 100 feet from the ground

Rotary-wing aircraft can also be authorised to go lower than 100 feet from the ground.

Low flying isn’t usually allowed in areas around airports, or towns and cities with populations of more than 10,000.

Find out more about:

The operational low flying training timetable

The UK is divided into 20 separate low flying areas (LFAs).

Three of these areas are also known as Tactical Training Areas (TTAs). These are in:

  • central Wales
  • northern Scotland
  • the borders area of southern Scotland and northern England

Fixed-wing aircraft can fly as low as 100 feet in TTAs, although larger aircraft such as the C-130 Hercules are only permitted to fly as low as 150 feet.

The Ministry of Defence (MOD) publishes a monthly timetable for the low flying TTAs. You can also contact MOD about low flying in your area.