beta This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what beta means

HMRC internal manual

Shared Workspace Business Manual

Organisations: Organisation Naming Convention


Consistent naming of an organisation is essential for the operation of the Shared Workspace service.

Each organisation is given a unique name and consists of up to two parts

  1. the organisation name

and, where needed

  1. sub-group name

All organisations must be named in accordance with the guidelines below.

Type of organisation Name
Company Use the name recorded in CTSA (this is supplied by Companies House).

For example: UK Business Ltd


  1. When a Company has more than one registered address a geographical identifier must be shown as a suffix to the company name.
The suffix is entered in the organisation name field, not the sub-group field e.g.  
Organisation name = UK Business Ltd (London)  
Sub-group name = Pensions  
    2. Where an organisation is set up for a specific department, the sub-group field is used to record the department name, e.g.  
Organisation name = UK Business Ltd  
Subgroup name = Accounts  
  | | Partnership                 | The name used must be the one recorded by HMRC in Self Assessment.
  Other Government Department This must show the name of the Government Department.

The sub-group field is used to record the cross-government project, e.g.

Organisation name = HM Treasury
Sub-group name = Shared Workspace