Children and young people's workforce apprenticeships

Types of apprenticeships that you can apply for in the children and young people's workforce sector.

Workers in this area make sure children are looked after, kept active, happy and nourished. They also help children develop social and practical skills.

Training opportunities

The exact nature of your job role will depend on your employer. The intermediate level apprenticeship is for those working under supervision such as a nursery assistant or playgroup assistant working with children under 5.

The advanced level apprenticeship is for those who work on their own initiative: planning and organising their own work and/or supervising others eg a nursery nurse, playgroup leader or a childminder working in their own home.

Types of apprenticeships

There are 2 types of apprenticeship.

Intermediate level apprenticeship

You can train in roles like:

  • early years worker or assistant
  • care worker or assistant
  • assistant youth support and community worker

Advanced level apprenticeship

You can train in roles like:

  • nursery worker or supervisor
  • nursery nurse or nursery teaching assistant

Apply for a children and young people’s workforce apprenticeship

You can become an apprentice in England if you’re:

  • 16 or over
  • eligible to work in England
  • not in full-time education
Published 12 April 2012