UK and the Sustainable Development Goals

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development was adopted by 193 UN member states at the United Nations Sustainable Development Summit in 2015. It provides an ambitious, globally-agreed, shared blueprint for the world we want to see by 2030 and is centred around the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (also known as the Global Goals or SDGs).

Sustainable Development Goals

The Sustainable Development Goals are underpinned by 169 targets which address a wide range of issues facing both developed and developing countries. These interconnected issues include poverty, inequality, climate change, inclusive societies and access to health and education. A central commitment of the Goals is to Leave No One Behind, ensuring that development progress reaches the most vulnerable and marginalised populations.

The SDGs apply to all countries, with all sectors playing a role in supporting their delivery. The UK is responsible for achieving the Goals domestically and for supporting their attainment internationally.

Voluntary National Review of Progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals

As part of Agenda 2030, all 193 UN member states are required to produce at least one Voluntary National Review, a report in which they assess and present progress they have made towards achieving the SDGs. In 2019, the UK produced its first Voluntary National Review and presented it on 16 July to the UN High Level Political Forum.

This website shares information about the UK’s efforts to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals, at home and abroad, and the process used to produce the Voluntary National Review.

Contact us at

My Global Goal - Join the conversation using #MyGlobalGoal on social media

Tell us what you are doing and find out more about the Voluntary National Review



See all announcements

Guidance and regulation

See all guidance and regulation