Written statement to Parliament

Surveillance Camera Commissioner

This written ministerial statement was laid in the House of Lords by Lord Taylor of Holbeach and in the House of Commons by Norman Baker MP.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The Rt Hon Lord Taylor of Holbeach CBE

Minister of State for Criminal Information (Lord Taylor of Holbeach):

I am today announcing arrangements for the appointment of the Surveillance Camera Commissioner under Section 34 of the Protection of Freedoms Act 2012. Following an open competition overseen by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments, this ministerial appointment will be filled by Mr Antony Porter. Mr Porter’s 3-year term of appointment will commence on 10 March 2014.

The Surveillance Camera Commissioner appointment has been filled by Mr Andrew Rennison who has now completed his term of office. I should like to record the government’s appreciation of Mr Rennison’s contribution in laying the foundations for regulation of surveillance camera systems.

Mr Rennison also holds the non-statutory appointment of Forensic Science Regulator. Arrangements for the recruitment of a new Forensic Science Regulator are in hand, and Mr Rennison will continue to fulfil that role on a part-time basis until a new appointment is made.

Published 13 February 2014