Independent report

Review of the Early Years Professional Status standards

This review aims to test how the EYPS standards can support the concept of teaching in early years and help spread leadership practice.


Review of the Early Years Professional Status standards


The Early Years Professional Status (EYPS) standards are the basis for the assessment and accreditation for the award of the EYPS and were launched in 2007. There were 39 standards, organised into six groups.

In July 2011 the Minister of State for Children and Families, Sarah Teather, announced that the former CWDC were to undertake a review of the EYPS standards within ‘Supporting Families in the Foundation Years’.

The review also aims to streamline the standards where possible ensuring that they link with other standards and ensure that they properly reflect outcomes of developments since 2007.

The revised standards are to be implemented in September 2012 by the Teaching Agency, in line with the implementation of the revised EYFS and new Teachers’ Standards.


  • Introduction: Background and Scope of the Review
  • The Review Process
  • Key findings
  • Rationale
  • Next steps
  • Annexes
Published 24 May 2012