Policy paper

One-in, two-out: seventh statement of new regulation - January to June 2014

Overview of regulations that the government plans to implement or remove between 1 January and 30 June 2014.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


Seventh statement of new regulation


Lists regulations scheduled to come into force between 1 January and 30 June 2014 that are included in the government’s ‘one-in, two-out’ rule. It also lists the regulations that we will remove during this period.

This is published every 6 months to tell businesses when regulations affecting them will be coming into force.

The ‘Seventh statement of new regulation’ sets out the:

  • incoming regulation that the government intends to implement over the next 6 months
  • our performance under one-in, two-out up to the end of 2013

From 1 January 2014 to 30 June 2014 the government intends to bring in 73 measures (16 regulatory, 27 deregulatory and 30 zero net cost). The net cumulative saving to business from 1 January 2011 to 31 December 2013 is currently around £1.2 billion.

Published 17 December 2013
Last updated 5 September 2014 + show all updates
  1. Data tables published.

  2. Updated description of measure BIS 0312 on page 24, and other minor errata.

  3. First published.