Marine conservation zone 2013 designation: Isles of Scilly

This inshore marine conservation zone (MCZ) was designated on 21 November 2013.


Isles of Scilly 2013 designation map

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


The Isles of Scilly MCZs are a collection of inshore sites located around the Isles of Scilly, a group of islands located approximately 45 km south-west of the Cornish coast. The MCZs consist of 11 separate sites covering a total area of over 30 km2.

The 11 sites are:

  • Bishop to Crim
  • Bristows to the Stones
  • Gilstone to Gorregan
  • Hanjague to Deep Ledge
  • Higher Town
  • Lower Ridge to Innisvouls
  • Men a Vaur to White Island
  • Peninnis to Dry Ledge
  • Plympton to Spanish Ledge
  • Smith Sound Tide Swept Channel
  • Tean

  • Isles of Scilly MCZ factsheet

Further information

Published 21 November 2013