Guidance on the methods that can be used to control harmful weeds

This note provides guidance on the methods which can be used to control the five injurious (harmful) weeds specified in the Weeds Act 1959.



The five weeds covered by the Weeds Act are:

  • Spear thistle (Cirsium vulgare)
  • Creeping or field thistle (Cirsium arvense)
  • Curled dock (Rumex crispus)
  • Broad leaved dock (Rumex obtusifolius)
  • Common ragwort (Senecio jacobaea)