English Baccalaureate: eligible qualifications

A list of qualifications that count towards the English Baccalaureate (EBacc).



In the school and college performance tables, the EBacc is a measure of entry and attainment at key stage 4 in:

  • English
  • maths
  • science
  • a language
  • history or geography
Published 1 December 2013
Last updated 7 June 2018 + show all updates
  1. Updated Key stage 4 qualifications counting in the English Baccalaureate
  2. Updated with accredited qualifications for September 2017.
  3. Updated with accredited qualifications for July 2017.
  4. Added 3 new AS levels to qualifications counting as language. They are WJEC Eduqas Level 3 Advanced Subsidiary GCEs in French, German and Spanish.
  5. Updated with newly-accredited qualifications for August 2016.
  6. This list has been moved from the 'School and college performance tables documents: key stage 4' page.
  7. First published.