Independent report

Domestic farm support funding (Bew Review): reviewing distribution across the UK from 2020 to the end of the parliament

Review to work out how to make sure that funding for domestic farm support is fairly allocated across the UK between 2020 and 2022. Also known as the Bew Review.



Final report of an independent review into the factors that should be considered to make sure that funding for domestic farm support is fairly allocated to the administrations of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Funding allocations have already been made up to 2020, so the review makes recommendations from 2020 to the end of this Parliament.

The review was chaired by Lord Paul Bew, and supported by an experienced panel of representatives from England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The review’s terms of reference set out what it looked at and how it was carried out.

The panel will be engaging with the devolved administrations and stakeholders across the UK.

Review panel and chair

Lord Paul Bew of Donegore (Chair)

Lord Bew was appointed as Chair of the Committee on Standards in Public Life in September 2013 until the Autumn of 2018.

Lord Bew joined Queen’s University Belfast in 1979 and was made Professor of Irish Politics in 1991. He acted as historical adviser to the Bloody Sunday Inquiry between 1998 and 2001 and was appointed as a non-party-political peer by the independent House of Lords Appointments Commission in February 2007 following his contributions to the Good Friday Agreement.

In 2007 he served on the Local London Authority Bill Select Committee and in 2011 served on the Joint Committee on the Defamation Bill, which addressed key issues of academic freedom. He chaired the independent review of Key Stage 2 (SATs) provision in England which reported in 2011 and was accepted by the government. He also served on the Joint Committee on Parliamentary Privilege which produced its report in July 2013.

Lord Bew is a Visiting Professor at King’s College London. Among Lord Bew’s many publications is the Ireland volume of the Oxford History of Modern Europe.

Review panel membership

The panel members are:

  • Lord Bew of Donegore (Chair)
  • Lord Curry of Kirkharle
  • Jim Walker
  • Leo O’Reilly
  • Rebecca Williams

Government response

Read the government response to this review.

Published 16 October 2018
Last updated 6 September 2019 + show all updates
  1. Added the final report for this review and a link to the government response.

  2. Added the names of the panel members.

  3. First published.