Broadband investment

Supporting detail:

Investing in SuperConnected Cities

SuperConnected Cities Programme

The Government has made up to £150 million available to support UK cities to develop the digital infrastructure capability to remain internationally competitive and attractive for investors, business and visitors.

Through the SuperConnected Cities Programme across 22 UK cities, the Government has provided:

  • Broadband Connection Vouchers to thousands of small and medium sized businesses to improve digital connectivity
  • public Wi-Fi in over 1,000 public buildings including museums, libraries and community centres, across city centres and in over 1,200 buses, trams and trains
  • digital projects increasing broadband capacity and supporting business growth in some of our leading cities

The 22 SuperConnected Cities are:

  • Birmingham, Bristol, Brighton and Hove, Cambridge, Coventry, Derby, Leeds and Bradford (joint proposal), London, Manchester, Newcastle, Oxford, Portsmouth, Salford and York in England
  • Aberdeen, Edinburgh and Perth in Scotland
  • Cardiff and Newport in Wales
  • Belfast and Derry/Londonderry in Northern Ireland

Broadband Connection Vouchers Scheme

From 1 April 2015, businesses in 50 UK cities will be able to benefit from the Broadband Connection Vouchers scheme. The scheme offers SMEs grants of up to £3,000 to cover installation costs associated with connecting to superfast and ultrafast broadband.

Following the Chancellor’s announcement in the Autumn Statement 2014, this will be funded through a £40 million Challenge Fund. The scheme will operate on a first-come first-served basis. The Fund will run until March 2016 or until the fund is spent, whichever is the soonest.

Businesses can find further details and apply on the Broadband Connection Voucher Scheme website.

The 50 cities participating in the scheme are:

  • Birmingham, Bournemouth, Brighton and Hove, Bristol, Cambridge, Chelmsford, Coventry, Derby, Exeter, Gloucester, Hull, Ipswich, Leeds/Bradford, Leicester, Liverpool, London, Manchester, Middlesbrough, Milton Keynes, Newcastle, Norwich, Nottingham, Oxford, Peterborough, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Preston, Reading, Salford, Sheffield, Southampton, Southend on Sea, Stoke on Trent, Sunderland, Swindon, Wolverhampton and York in England
  • Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Inverness, Perth and Stirling in Scotland
  • Cardiff, Newport and Swansea in Wales
  • Belfast and Derry/Londonderry in Northern Ireland