Main Board and Audit Committee and Non-executive director

Kathryn Cearns OBE, FCA, FCCA

Kathryn Cearns OBE, FCA, FCCA



Kathryn was appointed as a non-executive director of Highways England in April 2018 and is the Chair of Highways England’s Audit and Risk Committee. She is also a member of the Group Audit and Risk Committee at the Department for Transport.

A chartered accountant with extensive senior level experience in both the public and private sectors. Kathryn’s was Chairman of the Financial Reporting Advisory Board to HM Treasury from 2010 to 2016 and was Chairman of the ICAEW Financial Reporting Committee for 10 years up to the end of 2017. Her past roles include as a project director at the UK Accounting Standards Board (now the Financial Reporting Council) and for many years as the consultant accountant for an international law firm.

Kathryn currently holds a number of non-executive, trustee and advisory appointments most notably as a member of the External Audit Committee for the International Monetary Fund, a non-executive director for the UK Supreme Court, a non-executive board member and member of the Audit Committee for Companies House, a Non-executive director for The Property Ombudsman and as a trustee for Royal British Legion Industries. She is also on the Council of the ICAEW.

Main Board and Audit Committee

Non-executive director

Non-executive directors provide advice and bring an external perspective to business.