News story

Universal Credit now available in nearly 70% of all jobcentres

Universal Credit reaches 492 jobcentres as 22 more start taking new claims from today (Monday 9 November 2015).

Universal Credit

This morning, all new single claimants applying for unemployment benefits at these jobcentres will apply for Universal Credit.

The new system is designed to ensure people will be better off in work than on welfare and means they can receive support from jobcentre staff both in and out of work.

Today, single jobseekers will be able to claim Universal Credit in:

  • Diss
  • North Kensington
  • St Marylebone
  • Westminster
  • Exeter
  • Barnsbury
  • Finsbury Park
  • Highgate
  • Scarborough
  • Whitby
  • Honiton
  • Selby
  • Haverfordwest
  • Milford Haven
  • Pembroke Dock
  • Tiverton
  • Aberystwyth
  • Cardigan
  • Barnstaple
  • Bideford
  • Newton Abbot
  • Totnes

Are you ready to claim Universal Credit? It’s the new benefit that makes it easier to take up a wider range of jobs and get back to work quickly.

How Universal Credit can help you into work

Universal Credit will eventually replace 6 existing benefits:

  • Jobseeker’s Allowance
  • Income Support
  • Employment and Support Allowance
  • Working Tax Credit
  • Child Tax Credits
  • Housing Benefit

See the list of jobcentre areas where you can claim Universal Credit.

Published 9 November 2015