Press release

Trustees of the National Heritage Memorial Fund

The Prime Minister has appointed Professor Richard Morris and Mr Atul Patel as Trustees of The National Heritage Memorial Fund for three years, commencing 16 May 2011.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The Prime Minister has also reappointed Mr Dan Clayton Jones for a further six months as the Trustee for Wales, and Deputy Chairman of the UK-wide Board of Trustees.

Biographical details

Professor Richard Morris is currently Chair of Conflict and Culture at the University of Huddersfield.  From 2003-2010 he was Director of the Institute for Medieval Studies at the University of Leeds.  He was Director of the Council for British Archaeology from 1991-1999, and was a Commissioner of English Heritage from 1996-2005.  Between 2006 and 2011 he chaired the Expert Panel of the Heritage Lottery Fund, and is a Member of the English Heritage Review Committee.  He is Honorary Vice President of the Council for British Archaeology, Chair of the Blackden Trust, and a Trustee of the Landscape Research Centre, Barnes Wallis Memorial Trust, and York Archaeological Trust.

Atul Patel is an Independent Member of the Ealing Council Housing Forum.  From 1995-1998 he was Director of Regulation at The Housing Corporation.  He became Deputy Director at the Cabinet Office Social Exclusion Unit from 1998-2001, and was also a Member of the Independent Selection Panel for Leics Police Authority from 1998-2002.  He was appointed the Chairman of the Race Equality Advisory Group at the Department for Communities and Local Government from 2001-2005, overlapping with his role as a Board and Planning Cttee Member at the London Thames Gateway Development Corporation (2004-2009). He then held Chief Executive roles at ASRA Greater London Housing Assoc, and LHA-ASRA Group, until retiring in 2010.

Dan Clayton Jones is a Director of Cord Investments Ltd and J.J. & F Property Holdings Ltd. A life-long supporter of the heritage in Wales, he was Secretary of the Historic Houses Association in Wales for 12 years and is a founding Life Member of the Historic Gardens Trust. He has been the Vice-Chairman of the National Trust in Wales and was the first Chairman of the National Botanic Garden of Wales. In the last three years he has chaired Hendreff Building Preservation Trust, Cowbridge Physic Garden Trust and is the Chancellor and Knight of the Order of St John in Wales. Since 1999 he has held the appointment of Hon. Consul for Canada in Wales and was made a Deputy Lieutenant of Mid Glamorgan in 2001. He was also Chairman of ‘Prime Cymru’, one of the Prince of Wales Group of Charities until 2008.

Notes to Editors

The National Heritage Memorial Fund (NHMF) is the fund of last resort for the nation’s heritage, coming to the rescue by funding emergency acquisitions.  In 1994, the NHMF Trustees were also given the major task of distributing the heritage share of Lottery money for good causes, which it now operates through the Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF).  This Fund was set up by Parliament in 1994 to give grants to a wide range of projects involving the local, regional and national heritage of the United Kingdom.  HLF enables communities to celebrate, look after and learn more about the UK’s diverse heritage.  HLF funds the entire spread of heritage, including buildings, museums, natural heritage and the heritage of cultural traditions and language.   Trustees dedicate 2-3 days per month to the role, for which £6560 is offered annually in remuneration.  The Trustee for Wales and Deputy Chair devotes approximately five days per month to the role, for which £20,749 is offered annually in remuneration.

The appointment processes have followed the OCPA Code of Practice.  Appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for political activity in the United Kingdom in the past five years (if any declared) to be made public.  Prof Morris and Mr Patel have declared no political activity.  Mr Clayton Jones has declared obtaining office as a Community Councillor on behalf of the Wales Labour Party, and making a donation of £1000 at constituency level to the Wales Labour Party.

Published 19 May 2011