News story

The Prime Minister has appointed six new Trustees to the Board of the National Heritage Memorial Fund

The new Trustees will be part of a 15-strong Board which runs both National Heritage Memorial Fund and the Heritage Lottery Fund.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


New trustees biographical details:

Sir Roger De Haan

Sir Roger De Haan’s career as both Chairman and CEO of Saga spanned almost 40 years. Having retired from business in 2004, he now supports a range of charitable activities through the Roger De Haan Charitable Trust. Education, the arts and regeneration are a major focus of his philanthropy. He farms a mixed arable and livestock farm. Appointed for three years from 20 January 2014

David Heathcoat-Amory

David Heathcoat-Amory was an MP for 27 years until 2010, and served as a government minister in the Department of the Environment, the Department of Energy, HM Treasury and the Foreign Office. He is a Chartered Accountant, Chairman of London and Devonshire Trust and a director of Lowman Manufacturing Co Ltd. Appointed for three years from 20 January 2014

Dr Tom Tew

Dr Tom Tew is a nature conservationist, formerly Natural England’s Chief Scientist and currently Chief Executive of the Environment Bank, a private sector company that works with planning authorities, landowners and developers to deliver sustainable development for wildlife. He has led global, European and national programmes and served on numerous governmental advisory boards, including Sir John Lawton’s Making Space for Nature panel. Appointed for three years from 20 January 2014

Sandie Dawe

Sandie Dawe is Chief Executive of VisitBritain, responsible for marketing Britain worldwide and developing Britain’s visitor economy. During her 25-year tourism career, Sandie has led marketing, business development and publicity strategies to grow the value of tourism to Britain, including culture and heritage, business and sports tourism. She led VisitBritain’s strategy on the 2012 Olympic & Paralympic Games. Appointed for three years from 18 February 2014

Steve Miller

Steve Miller is Head of Norfolk Museums Service, one of the largest county museum services in Britain operating 10 museums across Norfolk including: Norwich Castle Museum & Art Gallery; Gressenhall Farm and Workhouse; and Time and Tide in Great Yarmouth. He has been a member of the European Cultural Parliament (ECP) since 2008 and also a cultural leadership fellow of the National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts (NESTA). He is a council member of the National Museum Directors’ Council (NMDC) and the Association of Independent Museums (AIM). Appointed for three years from 18 February 2014

Perdita Hunt

Perdita Hunt is Director of the Watts Gallery Trust where she successfully led a campaign to save the Watts Gallery and is now doing the same for Watts house and studio. She is also a trustee of Toynbee Hall, a Deputy Lieutenant for Surrey, a member of Arts Council England’s (ACE) South East Committee, a member of the Development Committee for Guildford Cathedral and a consultant for Leadership Insight. A trained arts administrator, Perdita has worked in senior positions at ACE, HLF and WWF-UK. Appointed for three years from 22 July 2014

About National Heritage Memorial Fund (NHMF)

The new Trustees will be part of a 15-strong Board which runs both NHMF and the Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF). Its role is to steer the policy and direction of the two Funds and take decisions on grant applications. NHMF, the nation’s grant-in-aid fund of last resort for heritage, has a current annual budget of £4m – £5m. To date, HLF has awarded £5.9bn to 36,000 heritage projects across the UK. Its grant budget for 2013-14 is £375m.

The National Heritage Memorial Fund was set up in 1980, to save the most outstanding parts of our national heritage, in memory of those who have given their lives for the United Kingdom. NHMF is due to receive £20m grant-in-aid from the Government between 2011 and 2015 allowing for an annual budget of £4m–£5m for distribution.

Published 13 February 2014