News story

Richard Turfitt appointed as Senior Traffic Commissioner

Transport Minister John Hayes appoints Richard Turfitt as the new Senior Traffic Commissioner.

Richard Turfitt.

Richard Turfitt has been appointed as the new Senior Traffic Commissioner by Transport Minister John Hayes.

Currently the Traffic Commissioner for the East of England, he will begin his new role on 1 June 2017, taking over from the current Senior Traffic Commissioner, Beverley Bell.

Traffic commissioners are responsible for the regulation of bus, coach and goods vehicle operators, and registration of local bus services. Where appropriate, they can call operators to a public inquiry to examine concerns about vehicle and driver safety. They also deal with professional drivers at conduct hearings.

Richard has been Traffic Commissioner for the East of England since 2008, and worked as a government prosecutor for over a decade. He is a serving Justice of the Peace.

Transport Minister John Hayes said:

I’m delighted that Richard will be the new Senior Traffic Commissioner, following his tenure as Traffic Commissioner for the East of England. His knowledge and vast experience means he is well-placed to regulate services appropriately, and I wish him all the best in this important role.

Richard Turfitt, said:

I am excited to be asked to take up the role of Senior Traffic Commissioner for Great Britain.

There is no doubt that I have a hard act to follow and I want to thank Beverley for her work as Senior Traffic Commissioner over the last 5 years. We have a strong, dedicated team of traffic commissioners and I look forward to continuing that work with them, to support responsible, compliant operators and drivers and focus our scrutiny on those who pose serious risks to safety standards.

Current Senior Traffic Commissioner, Beverley Bell, said:

Richard has been an unstinting source of support for me in my time as Senior Traffic Commissioner and I feel comfortable leaving the role in his capable hands

Roads media enquiries

Published 20 April 2017