Minister of State

The Rt Hon John Hayes CBE MP


John Hayes was appointed Minister of State at the Department for Transport on 15 July 2016. He was elected Conservative MP for South Holland and The Deepings in 1997.


John was educated at Colfe’s Grammar School and Nottingham University, where he graduated with a BA in politics and a PGCE in history and English.

Political career

John joined the Conservative Party at the age of 14. His career highlights include:

  • Vice Chairman of the Conservative Party, 1999
  • Shadow Schools Minister, 2000
  • Assistant Opposition Chief Whip, 2001
  • Shadow Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, 2002 to 2003
  • Shadow Minister for Housing and Planning, 2003 to 2005
  • Shadow Minister for Lifelong Learning, Further and Higher Education, 2007 to 2010
  • Minister of State for Further Education, Skills and Lifelong Learning in the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and the Department for Education, May 2010 to September 2012
  • Minister of State for Energy, Department of Energy and Climate Change, September 2012 to March 2013
  • Minister without Portfolio, March 2013 to July 2014
  • Minister of State at the Department for Transport and senior Parliamentary adviser to the Prime Minister from July 2014 to May 2015
  • Minister for Security at the Home Office from May 2015 until July 2016

Career outside politics

Before entering Parliament, John was a sales director for the Data Base Ltd, an IT company based in Nottingham.

Personal life

John and his wife have 2 sons.

Minister of State

The minister is responsible for:

  • Highways England
  • Modern Transport Bill
  • maritime (including Maritime and Coastguard Agency)
  • maritime security
  • freight and logistics
  • environment and technology
  • skills and innovation
  • built environment

Previous roles in government

  1. Minister of State for Security

    • 2015 to 2016
  2. Minister of State for Transport

    • 2014 to 2015
  3. Minister without Portfolio

    • 2013 to 2014
  4. Minister of State for Energy

    • 2012 to 2013
  5. Minister of State for Further Education, Skills and Lifelong Learning

    • 2010 to 2012
  6. Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Skills

    • 2010 to 2012


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. 1,000 jobs created at new £325 million factory for electric taxis

    • Press release
  2. All-Party Parliamentary Design and Innovation group address

    • Speech
  3. £23 million boost for hydrogen-powered vehicles and infrastructure

    • News story
  4. Air Quality Grant programme 2016 to 2017

    • News story
  5. New measures set out autonomous vehicle insurance and electric vehicle infrastructure

    • News story
  6. Almost £1 million awarded to 66 water rescue charities

    • News story
  7. Our island nation: maritime growth

    • Speech
  8. Low emission freight and logistics trial competition winners announced

    • News story
  9. Update on road freight

    • Statement to Parliament
  10. New emergency towing vessel for Scotland

    • News story