Press release

Renewable Fuels Agency Board reappointments

Gareth Llewellyn and Greg Archer reappointed at the Renewable Fuels Agency.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The Department for Transport and Renewable Fuels Agency (RFA) today (10 November 2010) announce the reappointment of Professor Ed Gallagher as Chairman of the Board of the RFA, and the reappointment of Gareth Llewellyn and Greg Archer as members of the RFA’s board.

The reappointments will allow the agency to continue to exercise its powers until - as recently announced - its functions are transferred to the Department for Transport, as part of the reform of public bodies.

Professor Gallagher’s reappointment is initially until 28 October 2011. Gareth Llewellyn and Greg Archer are initially reappointed until 4 November 2011.

Notes to editors

The RFA is a Non-Departmental Public Body established under the Renewable Transport Fuel Obligations Order 2007 to help the UK achieve its renewable transport fuel targets in a sustainable manner. It runs the Renewable Transport Fuel Obligation (RTFO), the primary mechanism in the UK for promoting biofuels and a world-leading carbon and sustainability reporting system. The RFA also reports to the UK Parliament and the public on the impacts of fuel supplied under the RTFO.

Professor Ed Gallagher is reappointed as Chair of the RFA from the 29 October 2010 until the 28 October 2011 on remuneration of £2,000 per month based on an average contribution of 4 days per month.

Professor Gallagher was previously the Chief Executive of the Environment Agency and National Rivers Authority and Chair of Energywatch from 2004 to 2009. He also currently chairs the research-based Centre for Low Carbon Futures, the award winning charity ENVISION and is a Board Member of Consumer Focus.

Gareth Llewellyn and Greg Archer are reappointed from 5 November 2010 to 4 November 2011, on remuneration of £750 per month based on an average contribution of 2 days per month.

Gareth Llewellyn is Managing Director of Sustainable Business Strategies and member of faculty at Cambridge University. Greg Archer is Managing Director of the Low Carbon Vehicle Partnership and Director of Cenex, a not for profit company he helped to establish in 2005.

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity (if any declared) to be made public.

Professor Ed Gallagher, Gareth Llewellyn and Greg Archer have not declared any political activity. The appointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointment’s code of practice.

Copies of the Renewable Transport Fuel Obligations Order 2007 (SI No. 3072)

Details of the coalition government’s proposals for the reform of public bodies, announced on 14 October 2011.

Media enquiries

If you're not a member of the media, use the switchboard line
0300 330 3000.

Media enquiries: Newsdesk (Monday to Friday, 8am to 7pm)
020 7944 3021

Urgent media enquiries out of hours
020 7944 4292

The Department for Transport press office only deals with enquiries from the media.

Published 10 November 2010