News story

Pupil Premium Awards 2014

Pupil Premium Awards reward schools that have used their pupil premium in new or especially effective ways to help disadvantaged pupils.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg gave out the 2014 Pupil Premium Awards this morning (25 June 2014) in a ceremony in London. These reward schools that have done the most with their funding to help close the performance gap between their poorest pupils and their peers.

Nick Clegg also announced today, with the Department for Education, that the pupil premium will be extended to 3- and 4-year-olds.

National winners

The best national primary, secondary and special school each won a national prize of £10,000, and the 3 runners-up won £3,000. Read about all the regional winners.

Millfield Science and Performing Arts College, Thornton

Millfield won the award for best national secondary school. The judges praised the school for providing additional staff to support pupils’ learning and for providing catch-up sessions for pupils who were struggling in English.

Park Junior School, Shirebrook

Park Junior School was named best national primary school. Judges commented on the school’s strong use of the Education Endowment Foundation’s pupil premium toolkit – an online resource that sets out the most effective ways of supporting disadvantaged and vulnerable children.

Ashmount School, Loughborough

Ashmount won for best national special school. Judges praised its “high focus on English and mathematics achievement” – the school uses pupil premium funding to pay for a number of activities, including weekly sessions with subject specialists.

About the Pupil Premium

The pupil premium is extra funding that the government gives to publicly funded schools in England to help disadvantaged children catch up with their peers. In 2014 to 2015 schools received £1,300 for each eligible primary school child, and £935 for each eligible pupil at secondary school.

Pupil Premium Awards

The awards are run by the Department for Education, together with TES.

Nick Clegg first announced the awards in May 2012.

The 2014 awards were judged by:

  • Dr John Dunford (co-chair), Chair of Whole Education and Pupil Premium Champion
  • Dr Kevan Collins (co-chair), Chief Executive of the Education Endowment Foundation
  • Ann Mroz, Editor of TES
  • Sir William S. Atkinson, retired Executive Headteacher of the Phoenix Canberra Schools Federation
  • Becky Francis, Professor of Education and Social Justice at King’s College London
  • Baroness Floella Benjamin OBE DL, Chancellor of the University of Exeter
Published 25 June 2014